Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
The Antimicrobial Stewardship Advisory Committee

Public Health Ontario (PHO) promotes and supports antimicrobial stewardship as an effective strategy for limiting inappropriate and excessive antimicrobial use, while improving and optimizing antimicrobial therapy and clinical outcomes for patients. Since 2013, Accreditation Canada mandates that all acute care facilities have an antimicrobial stewardship program (ASP).

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Advisory Committee (ASAC) advises PHO on matters related to antimicrobial stewardship, taking into account the following:

  • Provincial priorities;
  • Goals, objectives and targets for the development and implementation of antimicrobial stewardship in the province; and
  • Stakeholder needs, priorities and resources.

ASAC Call for Members

Currently, there are no vacancies for ASAC membership. For more information on how to become ASAC member please contact us at

ASAC Members

ASAC is comprised of individuals with expertise and/or interest in antimicrobial stewardship from a variety of disciplines and practice settings, and from regions across Ontario.

  • Anne Marie Bombassaro
    Pharmacy Practice Leader, Clinical Pharmacist, Infectious Diseases Service
    London Health Sciences Centre, London
  • Dr. Jamie C. Brown
    Physician-lead, Infection Prevention and Control, Antimicrobial Stewardship
    Peterborough Regional Health Centre, Peterborough
  • Patricia Byers
    Manager, IP Rehab & Outpatient Rehab Services
    North Bay Regional Health Centre, North Bay
  • Dan Dalton
    Clinical Consultant Pharmacist
    Medical Pharmacies Group Ltd., Ottawa
  • Joanne Dow
    Public Health Nurse Infectious Disease Control
    Middlesex-London Health Unit, London
  • Dr. Sameer Elsayed
    Medical Microbiologist and Physician Lead, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
    London Health Sciences Centre, London
  • Trent Fookes
    Director, Pharmacy
    Grey Bruce Health Services, Owen Sound
  • Rita Ha
    Clinical Pharmacist
    North York Family Health Team, Toronto
  • Dr. Camille Lemieux (Co-Chair)
    Associate Director, Infection Prevention and Control
    University Health Network, Toronto
  • Leslie McArthur
    Pharmacist Lead, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
    Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre, Barrie
  • Dr. Warren McIsaac
    Staff Family Physician
    Granovsky-Gluskin Family Medicine Centre, Mount Sinai Hospital, Toronto
  • Dr. Andrew Morris
    Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
    Mount Sinai Hospital | University Health Network, Toronto
  • Dr. Daniel R. Ricciuto
    Infectious Diseases, Infection Prevention and Control and Antimicrobial Stewardship
    Lakeridge Health, Oshawa
  • Dr. Sandra A.N. Walker
    Clinician Scientist and Pharmacy Lead, Infectious Diseases and Antimicrobial Stewardship
    Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, Toronto
  • Valerie Leung (Co-Chair)
    Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Lead, IPAC Resources Unit
    Public Health Ontario, Toronto
Page last reviewed:  
Page last updated: 26/05/2017 3:43 PM
Uncontrolled print copy. Valid only on day of Print: [date]
Page updated on [date/time] 26/05/2017 3:43 PM
© , Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion