Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
We are currently experiencing technical issues with registration and password reset for users with outlook.com, hotmail.com and live.com email accounts. We are working to resolve as quickly as possible and apologize for any inconvenience.

      Influenza

 
Contact us
 
Communicable Diseases, Emergency Preparedness and Response
cdepr@oahpp.ca
 
 

Influenza is a virus that causes mainly respiratory symptoms. Influenza viruses circulate seasonally each year with most illnesses occurring from November to April. Influenza viruses consists of two main types, influenza A and B; only influenza A viruses are known to have caused pandemics , which results when a new subtype appears that spreads around the world.

Infection with the influenza virus can result in a range of symptoms, from asymptomatic infection, to mild illness or more severe complications such as pneumonia or death. The most common symptoms of influenza are fever, cough, sore throat, headache and muscle aches. It is important to note that infection with other organisms can cause symptoms similar to those caused by the influenza virus.

Influenza spreads easily from person to person through coughing, sneezing, or having face-to-face contact. It can also spread when a person touches objects contaminated with the influenza virus and then touches their own eyes, mouth or nose before cleaning their hands.

Some individuals, such as young children, the elderly and those with underlying medical conditions are at highest risk of severe complications of influenza infection. The most effective way to prevent influenza infection is to receive the seasonal influenza vaccine every year.

Page last reviewed:
Page last updated: 27/11/2017 3:46 PM
Uncontrolled print copy. Valid only on day of Print: [date]
Page updated on [date/time] 27/11/2017 3:46 PM
© , Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

     La grippe

 
Pour nous joindre
 
Maladies transmissibles, ​Préparation et réponse aux situations d'urgence
cdepr@oahpp.ca
 
 

La grippe est causée par un virus (virus influenza) et entraîne principalement des symptômes respiratoires. Chaque année, on assiste à une circulation saisonnière de virus de la grippe. En effet, la plupart des cas de grippe sont observés du mois de novembre au mois d’avril. Il existe deux types principaux de virus de la grippe : les virus de la grippe A et les virus de la grippe B. Seulement les virus de la grippe A sont responsables de pandémies; celles-ci surviennent lorsqu’un nouveau sous-type de virus fait son apparition et se propage à l’échelle internationale.

Les infections causées par le virus de la grippe peuvent entraîner une variété de symptômes, allant de l’infection asymptomatique, d’une maladie légère à des complications graves, comme la pneumonie ou la mort. Les symptômes de la grippe les plus fréquemment observés sont de la fièvre, une toux, un mal de gorge, des maux de tête et des douleurs musculaires. Il est important de mentionner que des infections causées par d’autres organismes peuvent provoquer des symptômes similaires à ceux de la grippe.

La grippe se transmet facilement d’une personne à une autre par la toux, les éternuements ou durant les rencontres en personne. Une personne peut également contracter la grippe en touchant à des objets contaminés par le virus de la grippe, puis en se touchant les yeux, la bouche ou le nez avant de s’être lavé les mains.

 Certaines personnes, comme les jeunes enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes atteintes d’affections médicales sous-jacentes, présentent un risque élevé de complications graves liées à la grippe. La façon la plus efficace de prévenir la grippe est de recevoir chaque année le vaccin contre la grippe saisonnière.

 

Dernière révision de la page :
Dernière mise à jour de la page : 2017-11-27 15:45
Copie imprimée incontrôlée. Valable uniquement le jour de Imprimer: [date]
Page mise à jour [date/temps] 2017-11-27 15:45
© , Ontario Agence de protection et de promotion de la santé