Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

​The Ontario Health Profile

 

The Ontario Health Profile (OHP) describes the health status of Ontarians by focusing on key public health issues that have an impact on the whole of the population.

 

In a series of stories using current data and visuals, the OHP presents an overview of the complex factors that influence and shape Ontario’s population health status.

 

The OHP expands our understanding of the health of Ontarians and gives decision-makers and practitioners the information they need to take action. Each story includes three products: an infographic, an interactive web report, and data tables at both the provincial and public health unit level.

2016

Extreme Weather

Ontarians trust that health care facilities are clean and safe places that will help them get better when they are sick. Yet some people acquire health care-associated infections (HAIs) that can cause illness, complications or even death. Prevention and control of these infections in hospitals, long-term care homes and clinics is key to keeping patients safe.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​

2015

Extreme Weather

Extreme weather – weather events that are exceptional in terms of frequency or impact – can have outcomes that impact health through direct and indirect effects, including social and economic disruptions. A changing climate means more extreme weather events, increasing risk to the health of Ontarians.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Measles

Measles has been eliminated in the Americas, including Ontario – but some Ontarians are still at risk of catching the disease. If the province is to remain free of one of the world’s most contagious diseases, we need to be vigilant. Ontario falls just short of the level needed to stop the spread of measles.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Mental Health

Differences in the demographics of Ontario’s population are known to impact health. These determinants
of health play a key role in the health status of the population as a whole – understanding them and how they have changed over time can help to meet the health needs of Ontarians.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
 
Antimicrobial Resistance
 

Antimicrobial resistance is an increasingly serious health issue in Ontario and worldwide. As more antimicrobial drugs become ineffective and fail to treat a growing number of infections, those infections persist and increase the risk of disease, poor health and death. Action is required to ensure the use of antimicrobials only when necessary to safeguard the availability of future treatments for both common and serious infections.

 
​​​​​​​​​​
 
First Five Years
                         

A child’s first five years strongly influence health across the life course. Some children, due to socioeconomic, environmental and biological factors, experience vulnerabilities in early childhood
growth and development, leaving them at a disadvantage.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Mental Health

Mental health and mental illness – distinct but related concepts – are critically important to the health of Ontarians. The burden of poor mental health and mental illness begins in childhood and affects health across the life course.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Radon

Radon is a naturally occurring radioactive gas found in soil, water and outdoor air, and can enter buildings and accumulate in indoor air. Classified as a carcinogen by the International Agency for Research on Cancer, radon is one of the leading causes of lung cancer. Reducing exposure to indoor radon would result in fewer lung cancers in Ontario.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​


Antimicrobial Resistance
 

Concentrations of air pollutants are higher on and near major roads and highways. As many Ontarians spend time close to major roadways, they are at risk of increased exposure to traffic-related air pollution (TRAP) and its associated health impacts.
Better understanding of population-level TRAP exposure can focus efforts on reducing the specific health burden due to this issue.

 
​​​​​​​​​​
 
Foodborne Illness

The burden of foodborne illness is estimated to be substantial. Although self-limited in most instances, serious health effects or death may occur. Determining the true impact foodborne illness has on Ontario is difficult as it is underreported.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Mental Health

A substantial proportion of the Ontario population – both adults and children – is obese, and an even greater proportion is overweight. This is a result of several decades of increase and cannot be attributed to just one cause. Obesity is a complex issue with a negative impact on the health and quality of life of Ontarians.

Infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Respiratory Viruses

While influenza remains a significant threat to the health of Ontarians, a number of other respiratory viruses cause disease and illness throughout the year. Understanding respiratory viruses that pose a health threat allows for better clinical and public health management.

Download infographic

Interactive web report
​​​​​​​​​​​
Road Safety

Road safety is one of the greatest public health achievements of the 20th century. Continued effort to identify and address the factors that contribute to collisions is important to improving safety for all road users.

Infographic

Interactive web report

​​​​​​​​​​How to cite the infographics

To cite an individual infographic:
Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (Public Health Ontario). << insert title of infographic>>. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario; 2014.
e.g., Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (Public Health Ontario). Radon risks and realities. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario; 2014.

To cite the set of infographics:
Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion (Public Health Ontario). Ontario Health Profile Infographics. Toronto, ON: Queen’s Printer for Ontario; 2014.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Disclaimer
This document was developed by Public Health Ontario (PHO). PHO provides scientific and technical advice to Ontario’s government, public health organizations and health care providers. PHO’s work is guided by the current best available evidence.
PHO assumes no responsibility for the results of the use of this document by anyone. This document may be reproduced without permission for non-commercial purposes only and provided that appropriate credit is given to Public Health Ontario. No changes and/or modifications may be made to this document without explicit written permission from Public Health Ontario.
​​​​​​​​​​​
Uncontrolled print copy. Valid only on day of Print: [date]
Page updated on [date/time] 28/03/2016 5:01 PM
© , Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion

Ignorer les commandes du Ruban
Passer au contenu principal

​Le Profil de santé de l’Ontario

 

Le Profil de santé de l’Ontario décrit l’état de santé des Ontariennes et Ontariens, particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux questions clés de santé publique qui ont un impact sur toute la population.

 

Au moyen d’une série de comptes rendus conçus à partir de données actuelles et employant des éléments visuels, le Profil de santé de l’Ontario présente un aperçu des facteurs complexes qui influent et agissent sur l’état de santé de la population de l’Ontario.

 

Le Profil de santé de l’Ontario permet d’avoir l’heure juste sur la santé des Ontariennes et Ontariens, et fournit aux décideurs et aux fournisseurs de soins l’information dont ils ont besoin dans le cadre de leur travail. Chaque compte rendu comprend trois éléments : un résumé graphique, un rapport interactif en ligne et des tableaux de données à l’échelle provinciale et des bureaux locaux de santé publique.

​2016

Extreme Weather

Les Ontariennes et Ontariens ont confiance que les établissements de soins de santé sont des endroits propres et sécuritaires qui les aideront à se rétablir lorsqu’ils sont malades. Malgré tout, des personnes sont atteintes d’infections associées aux soins de santé (IASS) qui peuvent entraîner des maladies, des complications et même la mort. La prévention et le contrôle de ces infections dans les hôpitaux, les foyers de soins de longue durée et les cliniques sont essentiels pour assurer la sécurité des patients.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​

​2015

Extreme Weather
                         

Conditions climatiques extrêmes : les événements météorologiques qui sont exceptionnels sur le plan de la fréquence ou de l’impact qui entraînent des répercussions sur la santé par le biais d’effets directs et indirects, dont des perturbations sociales et économiques. Les changements climatiques se traduiront par des événements météorologiques extrêmes et un risque accru pour la santé des Ontariens.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
Measles French

La rougeole a été éliminée des Amériques, y compris de l’Ontario, mais certains Ontariens sont à risque de contracter cette maladie. Nous devons être vigilants si nous voulons que la province soit libre de l’une des maladies les plus contagieuses au monde. L’Ontario se situe juste sous le seuil nécessaire pour arrêter la propagation de la rougeole.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
First Five Years

Les différences démographiques au sein de la population de l’Ontario ont des répercussions sur la santé. Ces déterminants de la santé jouent un rôle clé dans l’état de santé général de la population. Le fait de bien les comprendre et de savoir comment ils ont évolué peut aider à répondre aux besoins en matière de santé des Ontariennes et Ontariens

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
 
Antimicrobial Resistance

La résistance aux antimicrobiens est un problème de santé de plus en plus important en Ontario et dans le monde. Comme plusieurs médicaments antimicrobiens deviennent inefficaces et ne parviennent pas à traiter un nombre croissant d’infections, ces infections persistent et augmentent le risque de maladie, de mauvaise santé et de décès. Des mesures sont nécessaires afin de veiller à ce que les antimicrobiens ne soient utilisés que lorsqu’ils sont nécessaires afin de préserver la disponibilité de futurs traitements pour les infections courantes et graves.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
 
First Five Years

Les cinq premières années de la vie d’un enfant ont une forte influence sur sa santé durant le reste de sa vie. Certains enfants, en raison de facteurs socioéconomiques, environnementaux et biologiques, présentent des vulnérabilités en matière de croissance et de développement durant leur petite enfance, ce qui les défavorise.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
Measles

La santé mentale et la maladie mentale, des notions distinctes, mais connexes, sont des aspects très importants pour la santé des Ontariennes et Ontariens. Le fardeau lié à la mauvaise santé mentale et à la maladie mentale commence à l’enfance et nuit à la santé tout au long de la vie.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
Radon

Le radon est un gaz radioactif naturel que l’on trouve dans le sol, l’eau et l’air extérieur, et qui peut s’infiltrer dans les bâtiments et s’accumuler dans l’air intérieur. Classé comme une substance cancérogène par le Centre International de Recherche sur le Cancer, le radon est l’une des principales causes du cancer du poumon. La réduction de l’exposition aux concentrations intérieures de radon se traduirait par une diminution du cancer du poumon en Ontario.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
 
Antimicrobial Resistance

Les concentrations de polluants atmosphériques sont plus élevées sur les routes principales et les
autoroutes et à proximité. Les nombreux Ontariens et Ontariennes qui passent du temps près des grands
axes routiers sont à risque d’une exposition accrue à la pollution de l’air causée par la circulation routière et de ses effets sur la santé. Une meilleure compréhension de l’exposition de la population à la pollution de l’air causée par la circulation routière nous permettrait de concentrer les efforts à réduire le fardeau particulier de ce problème sur la santé.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
Measles French

On estime que le fardeau des maladies d’origine alimentaire est très important. Même s’ils sont limités dans la plupart des cas, les effets sur la santé peuvent être graves ou provoquer la mort. Il est difficile de déterminer les répercussions véritables des maladies d’origine alimentaire en Ontario parce qu’elles sont sous-déclarées.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
First Five Years

Une proportion importante de la population de l’Ontario, tant chez les adultes que chez les enfants, est obèse, et une proportion encore plus grande est en surpoids. Cette situation est le résultat de plusieurs décennies d’augmentation et elle ne peut être attribuée à une seule cause. L’obésité est une question complexe qui a des répercussions négatives sur la santé et la qualité de vie des Ontariennes et Ontariens.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
First Five Years

Même si la grippe demeure une menace importante pour la santé des Ontariens, un certain nombre d’autres virus respiratoires provoquent des maladies tout au long de l’année. Bien connaître les virus respiratoires qui présentent un risque pour la santé permet d’assurer une meilleure gestion des soins cliniques et de la santé publique.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
​​​​​​​​​​​
First Five Years

La sécurité routière est l’une des plus importantes réalisations en matière de santé publique du 20e siècle. Les efforts continus visant à cerner et à limiter les facteurs qui contribuent aux collisions sont importants afin d’améliorer la sécurité de tous les usagers de la route.

Résumé graphique

Rapport interactif
 
Comment citer les résumés graphiques
 

Mise en référence d’un résumé graphique :
Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé (Santé publique Ontario). << mettre le titre du résumé graphique >>, Toronto, Ontario, Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario, 2014.
Exemple : Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé (Santé publique Ontario). Risques et réalités liés au radon, Toronto, Ontario, Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario, 2014.

 

Mise en référence d’un ensemble de résumés graphiques :
Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé (Santé publique Ontario). Résumés graphiques tirés du Profil de santé de l’Ontario, Toronto, Ontario, Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario, 2014.

 

 

 

 

 


Avis de non-responsabilité
Le présent document a été conçu par Santé publique Ontario (SPO). SPO offre des conseils scientifiques et techniques au gouvernement de l’Ontario, à des agences de santé publique et à des fournisseurs de soins de santé. Le travail de SPO s’appuie sur les meilleurs résultats disponibles actuellement. SPO n’assume aucune responsabilité relativement aux conséquences de l’utilisation de ce document par quiconque. Ce document peut être reproduit sans permission à des fins non commerciales seulement, pourvu que les renvois appropriés soient faits à Santé publique Ontario. Aucune modification ne peut être apportée à ce document sans la permission écrite explicite de Santé publique Ontario.

Dernière révision de la page :  
Dernière mise à jour de la page : 2016-03-28 17:01
Copie imprimée incontrôlée. Valable uniquement le jour de Imprimer: [date]
Page mise à jour [date/temps] 2016-03-28 17:01
© , Ontario Agence de protection et de promotion de la santé