Antimicrobial Stewardship Advisory Committee (ASAC)

PHO promotes antimicrobial stewardship as an effective strategy for reducing inappropriate and excessive antimicrobial use, while improving and optimizing antimicrobial therapy and clinical outcomes for patients.

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Advisory Committee (ASAC) advises PHO on provincial goals, objectives and targets for antimicrobial stewardship program (ASP) development and implementation based on stakeholder needs, priorities and resources. ASAC is comprised of antimicrobial stewardship experts from a variety of disciplines and practice settings, and from regions across Ontario. Since 2013, Accreditation Canada mandates that all acute care facilities have an ASP.

Call for Members

There are currently no open calls. Please check back for future opportunities.

Read more

Conflict of Interest Rules

Public Health Ontario recognizes that many external advisors may not be completely free of actual, potential or perceived conflict of interest, as they may have affiliations with regulated industries, the scientific community or special interest groups, which receive funding from industry.

In an attempt to avoid or mitigate conflict of interest, we have developed conflict of interest rules that are intended to achieve a reasonable balance of those divergent considerations and the expertise we hope to gain from the external advisors, while avoiding or mitigating conflict of interest. To this end, each candidate will be asked to complete a conflict of interest disclosure form as part of the application process. 

Read more

Our Members

Dan Dalton
Clinical Consultant Pharmacist
Medical Pharmacies Group Ltd., Ottawa

Joanne Dow
Public Health Nurse Infectious Disease Control
Middlesex-London Health Unit, London

Trent Fookes
Director, Pharmacy
Grey Bruce Health Services, Owen Sound

Leslie McArthur
Pharmacist Lead, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Royal Victoria Regional Health Centre, Barrie

Dr. Andrew Morris
Director, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Mount Sinai Hospital | University Health Network, Toronto

Dr. Daniel R. Ricciuto (Co-Chair)
Infectious Diseases, Infection Prevention and Control and Antimicrobial Stewardship
Lakeridge Health, Oshawa

Valerie Leung (Co-Chair)
Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Lead, IPAC Resources Unit
Public Health Ontario, Toronto

Dr. Huda Almohri
Deputy Ontario Medical Director, Lab Director and Discipline Head, Microbiology
LifeLabs

Anne Cheung
Clinical Pharmacist, Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
West Park Healthcare Centre

Laura Logan
Infection Control Practitioner
Lakeview Manor & Fairview Lodge

Dr. Anjali Oberai
Family Physician
Wawa Family Health Team

Chat icon

Contact the Department

asp@oahpp.ca

Updated 3 May 2019

Comité consultatif sur la gestion des antimicrobiens (CCGA)

Santé publique Ontario (SPO) favorise la gestion des antimicrobiens comme stratégie efficace de limitation de l’emploi inapproprié et excessif des antimicrobiens tout en améliorant et en optimisant la thérapie antimicrobienne et les résultats cliniques pour les patients.

Le Comité consultatif sur la gestion des antimicrobiens (CCGA) conseille SPO sur les buts, les objectifs et les cibles de la province quant à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de programmes de gestion des antimicrobiens (PGA) tenant compte des besoins, des priorités et des ressources des parties prenantes. Le CCGA se compose d’experts en gestion des antimicrobiens provenant d’un éventail de disciplines et de milieux de pratique, et de diverses régions de l’Ontario. Depuis 2013, Agrément Canada exige que tous les établissements de soins actifs adoptent un PGA.

Appel de candidatures

Il n’y a pas d’appel en cours actuellement. Veuillez vérifier régulièrement si des possibilités sont offertes.

Pour en savoir plus

Règles régissant les conflits d’intérêts

Santé publique Ontario reconnaît la possibilité que les relations qu’entretiennent de nombreux conseillers externes avec des industries réglementées, le milieu scientifique ou des groupes d’intérêts qui reçoivent des fonds de membres de l’industrie puissent entraîner des situations de conflit d’intérêts réel ou possible, ou d’apparence de conflit d’intérêts.

Afin d’éviter ou d’atténuer les conflits d’intérêts, nous avons élaboré des règles régissant les conflits d’intérêts qui ont pour but d’atteindre un équilibre raisonnable entre ces considérations divergentes et l’expertise dont nous espérons bénéficier de la part des conseillers externes tout en évitant ou en limitant les conflits d’intérêts. À cette fin, tous les candidats devront remplir un formulaire de divulgation des conflits d’intérêts dans le cadre du processus de demande.

Pour en savoir plus

Dan Dalton
Pharmacien clinicien consultant
Medical Pharmacies Group Ltée, Ottawa

Joanne Dow
Infirmière en santé publique, Contrôle des maladies infectieuses
Bureau de santé publique de Middlesex-London, London

Trent Fookes
Directeur, Pharmacie
Grey Bruce Health Services, Owen Sound

Leslie McArthur 
Pharmacienne, responsable du Programme de gestion des antimicrobiens
Centre régional de santé Royal Victoria, Barrie

Dr Andrew Morris
Directeur, Programme de gestion des antimicrobiens
Hôpital Mount Sinai | Réseau universitaire de santé, Toronto

Dr Daniel R. Ricciuto (coprésident)
Maladies infectieuses, Prévention et contrôle des infections et gestion des antimicrobiens
Lakeridge Health, Oshawa

Valerie Leung (coprésidente)
Responsable, Programme de gestion des antimicrobiens, Unité de ressources en PCI
Santé publique Ontario, Toronto

Dr Huda Almohri
Directeur médical adjoint pour l’Ontario, Directeur du laboratoire et responsable de la discipline, Microbiologie
LifeLabs

Anne Cheung
Pharmacienne clinique, Programme de gestion des antimicrobiens
Centre de soins de santé West Park 
 
Laura Logan
Professionnelle en contrôle des infections
Lakeview Manor & Fairview Lodge

Dre Anjali Oberai
Médecin de famille
Équipe de santé familiale de Wawa 

 
icône de messagerie

Contacter le service

Programme de gestion des antimicrobiens

asp@oahpp.ca

Mis à jour le 3 mai 2019