Shared Library Services Partnership (SLSP)

The Shared Library Services Partnership (SLSP) provides Ontario public health units without an in-house library with access to up-to-date information and scientific resources. The SLSP is designed to support and strengthen relationships and promote knowledge exchange among public health units. Four existing health unit libraries (“hub health units”) currently provide services to health units without in-house libraries (“client health units”).

To learn more about this initiative, visit the SLSP official website.

The partnership relies on supports and resources from across Ontario’s public health library system, including PHO Library Services and the Ontario Public Health Libraries Association (OPHLA).

Services Offered

Each hub health unit has a designated librarian who provides the following core services:

  • article retrieval/document delivery
  • literature searches
  • answering reference questions (e.g., citations or copyright)
  • help desk questions (e.g., technical issues: login issues, difficulty opening articles)
  • book loans
  • training for client health units (on-site training and webinars)
  • reference materials (e.g., copyright fact sheets, resources handouts, instructions on use of information tools)

Evaluation of SLSP

SLSP has been successful in developing and operating an innovative and cost-effective partnership to deliver a wide range of library services across Ontario’s public health system.

Read the report

Finding your Library Hub

If you work at any health unit listed below, you can use the services of the designated library hub. If your health unit is not listed, continue to use your in-house library service.

Designated Library  Eligible Public Health Units 

Middlesex-London Health Unit

  • Chatham-Kent Health Unit
  • Haldimand Norfolk Health Unit
  • Lambton Public Health
  • Niagara Region Public Health
  • Windsor-Essex County Health Unit

Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health

  • Eastern Ontario Health Unit 
  • Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit 
  • Ottawa Public Health 
  • Hastings and Prince Edward Counties Health Unit

Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit

  • Brant County Health Unit 
  • Grey Bruce Health Unit 
  • Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit 
  • Huron Perth Health Unit 
  • Southwestern Public Health Unit  
  • Peterborough Public Health

Thunder Bay District Health Unit

  • Algoma Public Health Unit 
  • North Bay Parry Sound District Health Unit 
  • Northwestern Health Unit
  • Porcupine Health Unit 
  • Renfrew County and District Health Unit 
  • Sudbury & District Health Unit
  • Timiskaming Health Unit
Chat icon

Contact the Department

Library Services

Updated 8 April 2019