COVID-19 Laboratory Testing at Public Health Ontario

Laboratory testing is an essential component of Ontario’s response to COVID-19. Not only because it tells us if someone has COVID-19 or not, but also because it sheds light on where and how the virus is spreading.

 

What type of COVID-19 testing does PHO do?

PHO performs COVID-19 diagnostic tests in partnership with many hospital, academic and private labs across the province. This network of labs, coordinated by Ontario Health, came together in early 2020, in order to meet the increased demand for testing.

PHO also acts as Ontario’s reference laboratory for COVID-19 testing. This means that we provide support to new labs as they come online with testing and also validate early samples from those labs to confirm the accuracy of the testing. We also validate new test methods (in collaboration with partner labs, including the National Microbiology Lab) and provide expertise to inform the evolution of Ontario’s testing strategy, including how these new methods are implemented.

PHO also leads the Ontario COVID-19 Genomics Network (OCGN), which was established in March 2021 in response to the emergence of COVID-19 variants, with the goal of providing timely surveillance of known and emerging variants. The OCGN is comprised of representatives from clinical and public health laboratories undertaking genomics testing, government, public health and research centres.

How is diagnostic testing for COVID-19 done?

The primary method used in Ontario for COVID-19 diagnostic testing is PCR testing (also known as polymerase chain reaction testing). PCR testing is a type of test that tells us if someone currently has COVID-19. It uses a sample collected with a swab from the person’s nose/throat.

How are COVID-19 variants detected in Ontario?

As new and emerging variants become known, laboratory systems around the world, including our lab at PHO, are required to adapt and shift to proactively monitor for these variants and understand how they are spreading in Ontario. The province’s complete variant testing and surveillance strategy includes three key components:

  • COVID-19 diagnostic testing (through PCR)
  • Whole genome sequencing

For more information, visit our Testing to Monitor COVID-19 Variants page.

Who should be tested for COVID-19?

If you have been in contact with or exposed to someone who has tested positive for COVID-19, take the Ontario COVID-19 self-assessment to determine next steps for you and the people in your household. More information on what to do if you have been exposed to COVID-19 is available at ontario.ca/exposed.

If you are required to isolate, you should not leave your home for any reason unless you are going to get tested for COVID-19 or have an emergency. For more information, see our How to Self-Isolate Fact Sheet and follow current public health advice on how long to remain isolated.

Event

PHO Webinar: Measles Update for Clinicians and Public Health

This session will provide an update on measles in Ontario including an overview of updated resources and guidance and common questions from the field.

See the Event Details
Updated 22 Jan 2024

Tests de dépistage en laboratoire de la COVID-19 à Santé publique Ontario

Les tests de laboratoire font partie intégrante de la stratégie ontarienne de gestion de la COVID-19. Ils permettent non seulement d’identifier les personnes atteintes de la maladie, mais aussi de déterminer les endroits où a lieu la transmission et les modes de transmission.

Quel type de test de dépistage de la COVID-19 est fait par SPO?

SPO effectue chaque jour de tests diagnostiques de la COVID-19 en partenariat avec de nombreux laboratoires en milieu hospitalier, universitaire et privé de toute la province. Ce réseau de laboratoires, coordonné par Santé Ontario, a été mis sur pied au début de 2020 pour répondre à la demande croissante en analyses.

SPO est aussi le laboratoire ontarien de référence pour le dépistage de la COVID-19. Cela signifie que nous aidons les nouveaux laboratoires qui effectuent des tests et nous validons leurs premiers échantillons afin de confirmer la justesse des analyses. Nous validons également les nouvelles méthodes de dépistage (en collaboration avec les laboratoires partenaires, dont le Laboratoire national de microbiologie) et nous offrons des conseils en vue d’optimiser la stratégie ontarienne de dépistage, y compris l’application de ces nouvelles méthodes.

SPO chapeaute également le Réseau génomique COVID-19 de l’Ontario (RGCO), établi en mars 2021 pour surveiller en temps réel les variants connus et émergents. Le RGCO compte des représentants des laboratoires cliniques et de santé publique qui font le séquençage du génome, ainsi que du gouvernement, de la santé publique et des centres de recherche.

Comment s’effectuent les tests diagnostiques de la COVID-19?

La principale méthode utilisée en Ontario pour les tests de diagnostic de la COVID-19 est la Test par réaction en chaîne de la polymérase (RCP). Cette test permettant de détecter si une personne est atteinte de la COVID-19 sur le moment. Ce test s’effectue par écouvillonnage du nez ou de la gorge.

Comment sont repérés les variants en Ontario?

Lorsqu’un nouveau variant est décelé, les laboratoires de la planète, y compris ceux de SPO, doivent s’adapter et surveiller activement le variant pour comprendre comment il se propage. La stratégie de la province pour le dépistage et la surveillance des variants comprend trois éléments principaux :

  • tests diagnostiques (par RCP);
  • séquençage du génome entier.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page sur les tests de dépistage en laboratoire aux fins de surveillance des variants de la COVID-19.

À qui devrait-on administrer un test de dépistage de la COVID-19?

Si vous avez été en contact ou exposé à une personne dont le test de dépistage de la COVID-19 a été positif, faites l'auto-évaluation de la COVID-19 en l'Ontario afin de déterminer les prochaines étapes pour vous et les personnes de votre foyer. Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur ce que vous devez faire si vous avez été exposé à la COVID-19 sur le site ontario.ca/exposed.

Si vous devez vous isoler, vous ne devez pas quitter votre domicile pour quelque raison que ce soit, sauf si vous devez faire un test de dépistage du COVID-19 ou en cas d'urgence. Pour plus d'informations, consultez notre fiche d'information Comment s'auto-isoler et suivez les conseils actuels de santé publique sur la durée de l'isolement.

Événement

Legionella in Healthcare Settings: When Risk Becomes Reality

This PHO Rounds will outline the immediate response to, as well as long-term risk mitigation strategies for Legionella using a case study from The Ottawa Hospital, and discuss the limitations and considerations of our Water Management Plan.

Voir les détails de l'événement
Mis à jour le 22 janv. 2024