About Public Health Ontario

Public Health Ontario - Why We Exist

Following a series of major public health events in the early 2000s, including the Walkerton waterborne outbreak of E. coli and the outbreak of SARS, a key recommendation for Ontario was the creation of an arms-length scientific and technical organization. Public Health Ontario (PHO) began operations in 2008. This video covers how PHO was established, why we exist, how we build capacity in the public health workforce with our educational offerings, and how we keep Ontarians safe and healthy.

Duration: 3 min

Public Health Ontario – Keeping the people of Ontario safe

Public Health Ontario (PHO) works with our partners and clients to keep Ontarians safe. This video highlights how PHO continues to adapt and respond to ensure that Ontario is always ready as new issues emerge, such as outbreaks, infectious diseases and infection prevention and control lapses.

Duration: 3 min

Public Health Ontario - Helping the People of Ontario Stay Healthy and Out of the Hospital

Three-quarters of all deaths in Ontario can be attributed to chronic diseases. This video describes how Public Health Ontario (PHO) finds ways for Ontarians to be healthier longer, by working with our partners and clients to prevent chronic diseases that require treatment in the hospital and strain the health system. Examples include, partnering on interactive tools using the best available data and producing burden of illness reports.

Duration: 3 min

Published 4 Nov 2019

About Public Health Ontario

Santé publique Ontario – Notre raison d'être

À la suite d’une série d’événements majeurs en santé publique au début des années 2000, dont l’éclosion d’E. coli d’origine hydrique à Walkerton et l’éclosion du SRAS, une recommandation importante touchant l’Ontario portait sur la création d’un organisme scientifique et technique indépendant. Santé publique Ontario (SPO) a commencé ses activités en 2008. Cette vidéo explique comment SPO a été créée, pourquoi nous existons, comment nous renforçons la capacité du personnel en santé publique grâce à nos programmes éducatifs et comment nous assurons la sécurité et la santé des Ontariennes et Ontariens.

Santé publique Ontario – Assurer la sécurité de la population de l’Ontario

Santé publique Ontario (SPO) travaille avec ses partenaires et ses clients pour assurer la sécurité de la population ontarienne. Cette vidéo montre comment SPO continue de s’adapter et de réagir afin de veiller à ce que l’Ontario soit toujours prêt à faire face aux nouveaux enjeux, comme les éclosions, les maladies infectieuses et les manquements en matière de prévention et de contrôle des infections.

Santé publique Ontario – Aider la population de l’Ontario à rester en santé et hors de l’hôpital

Les trois quarts des décès qui surviennent en Ontario sont attribuables à des maladies chroniques. Cette vidéo décrit comment Santé publique Ontario (SPO) trouve des moyens permettant aux Ontariennes et Ontariens d’être en meilleure santé plus longtemps, en travaillant avec ses partenaires et ses clients afin de prévenir les maladies chroniques qui nécessitent un traitement en milieu hospitalier et qui exercent une pression sur le système de santé. Par exemple, établir des partenariats relatifs à des outils interactifs à l’aide des meilleures données disponibles et produire des rapports sur le fardeau de la maladie.

Publié le 4 nov. 2019