Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee on Infection Prevention and Control (PIDAC-IPC)

PIDAC-IPC is a multidisciplinary committee of health care professionals with expertise and experience in Infection Prevention and Control.

The committee advises PHO on the prevention and control of health care-associated infections, considering the entire health care system, with a focus on clients, patients and residents, as well as health care providers. 

PIDAC-IPC produces best practice documents that are evidence-based, to the largest extent possible, to assist health care organizations in improving quality of care, as well as client, patient and resident safety.

PIDAC Call for Members

There are currently no open calls. Please check back for future opportunities.

Conflict of Interest Rules

Public Health Ontario recognizes that many external advisors may not be completely free of actual, potential or perceived conflict of interest, as they may have affiliations with regulated industries, the scientific community or special interest groups, which receive funding from industry.

In an attempt to avoid or mitigate conflict of interest, we have developed conflict of interest rules that are intended to achieve a reasonable balance of those divergent considerations and the expertise we hope to gain from the external advisors, while avoiding or mitigating conflict of interest. To this end, each candidate will be asked to complete a conflict of interest disclosure form as part of the application process. 

Read more

Members

Dr. Matthew Muller, Chair

Matthew Muller is currently an infectious diseases consultant at St. Michael’s Hospital and has been the medical director of Infection Prevention and Control at the hospital since 2011. Muller is a member of the Public Health Agency of Canada’s Expert Working Group on Infection Prevention and Control and is the vice chair of the Expert Panel on Infection Control for the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Toronto. He joined the Provincial Infectious Advisory Committee on Infection Prevention and Control (PIDAC-IPC) in 2013 and became the chair of the committee in 2014.

Muller completed his training in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases as well as his PhD in Clinical Epidemiology at the University of Toronto. His PhD thesis examined clinical and epidemiological aspects of the SARS epidemic in Toronto. His current research interests are focused on the epidemiology and prevention of healthcare-associated infection as well as issues related to hand hygiene improvement, hand hygiene measurement and hand hygiene measurement technology.

Sandra Callery, Scientific Lead

Sandra Callery has worked in the field of Infection Prevention and Control (IPAC) for many years with IPAC leadership roles in a variety of health care settings including small community hospitals, long term care and large tertiary care centres. Her current position is Senior Advisor, Health Protection at Public Health Ontario and Scientific Lead for PIDAC.

Sandra is a registered nurse and holds a Master of Health Sciences where her research focused on HIV infection, counseling and testing. She has been involved in research and publications regarding disease transmission and management of patients with antibiotic resistant organisms. She is on the editorial board for the Canadian Journal of Infection Control (CJIC).

Sandra is an Assistant Clinical Professor at McMaster University’s Faculty of Health Sciences and lecturer for IPAC courses through Centennial College and Queens University.

Natalie Bruce

Natalie is the Manager of the Infection Prevention and Control Program at The Ottawa Hospital. She has 17 years’ experience in infection prevention and control and has maintained her CIC certification since 1996.

She is the chair of the IPAC-Canada Education Core Committee and is a member of the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc. (CBIC) Test Committee since 2014. Prior to infection control Natalie worked as a critical care nurse and an organ donor coordinator

Dr. William Ciccotelli

William Ciccotelli graduated from McMaster Medical School in 2002, staying in Hamilton to complete post graduate training programs in internal medicine, infectious diseases and medical microbiology. For the last six years, he has been practicing as a consultant in infectious diseases and as a microbiologist for Grand River and St. Mary’s general hospitals in Kitchener Waterloo.

He is also serves as the Joint Medical Director for the Infection Prevention and Control departments, and as the physical lead in the Joint Antibiotic Stewardship program. Ciccotelli holds an appointment as a part time assistant professor in the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine at McMaster University and remains involved in medical education in Infectious Diseases at the local campus.

Dr. Susy Hota

Susy Hota is a hospital epidemiologist and infectious diseases specialist at the University Health Network, and a Clinician in Quality Improvement and Innovation at the University of Toronto. She completed medical school, residency training and a Masters of Science in Clinical Epidemiology and Health Research at the University of Toronto.

Hota’s clinical and research interests include improving the control and management of Clostridium difficile infection (CDI), understanding the long-term health effects of fecal microbiota transplantation (FMT) and improving health systems response to infectious diseases emergencies.

Vydia Nankoosingh

Vydia Nankoosingh is as a general medical laboratory technologist with 11 years of experience working in microbiology. She started as an Infection Control Professional in 2001 at the North York General Hospital where she worked predominantly in acute care and also gained experience in the rehabilitation and long term care settings.

Nankoosingh moved to the University Health Network in 2004 where she had the opportunity to work on the Infection Control Resource Team (OAHPP), lead UHN’s external consulting and become a team leader. Nankoosingh has been at The Scarborough Hospital since 2010 as a manager of IPAC. She is also an executive member of IPAC-GTA (local chapter of IPAC-Canada) and has been certified by the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology since March 2004.

Dr. Herveen Sachdeva

Herveen Sachdeva is a Public Health and Preventive Medicine physician. She has worked for Toronto Public Health as an Associate Medical Officer of Health since completing her fellowship training at the University of Toronto in 2006.

Over these years, she has focused in communicable disease control in the areas of outbreak control and prevention, and infection prevention and control in community settings. She is an adjunct lecturer with the Dalla Lana School of Public Health at the University of Toronto.

Louise Azzara

Louise has been working in public health for 24 years as a Public Health Inspector, beginning her career with the Province of Saskatchewan in 1994. In 2000, she moved back to Ontario and worked for the Muskoka Parry Sound District Health Unit and the Simcoe Muskoka District Health Unit (SMDHU).  She worked as a General PHI up until 2002, and then specialized in IPAC on the Communicable Disease Investigation Unit and Surveillance Units.  In 2013, she was hired as the Infection Prevention and Control Coordinator for the SMDHU. She graduated in 1994 with a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Health and obtained a Master of Science in Infectious Diseases in 2009. In 2013, she became certified in Infection Control CIC and recertified in 2017.

Laurie Streitenberger

Laurie is the Senior Manager of the Infection Prevention and Control program at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids). She has been an ICP at SickKids since 1998 and a Registered Nurse since 1991.  Her experience is in neonatal and pediatric infection prevention and control with a special interest in surgical site infections. 

Dr. Dominik Mertz

Dr. Mertz completed his medical training in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases in Switzerland prior to moving to Canada to complete a Master of Health Research Methodology at McMaster University. He is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine and is affiliated with the Departments for Health Research Methods, Evidence and Impact, the Department of Pathology and Molecular Medicine, the Population Health Research Institute (PHRI), and the Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Diseases Research. He serves as the Medical Director Infection Prevention and Control at Hamilton Health Sciences; editor for BMC Infectious Diseases; teaches at McMaster University; and is a member of the Canadian Nosocomial Infection Surveillance Program (CNISP) and Society of Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA).

 

Chat icon

Contact the Department

pidac@oahpp.ca

Updated 14 Aug 2021

Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses – Prévention et contrôle des infections (CCPMI-PCI)

Le CCPMI-PCI est un comité multidisciplinaire composé de professionnels des soins de santé possédant des compétences et de l’expérience en matière de prévention et de contrôle des infections. 

Le Comité conseille Santé publique Ontario relativement à la prévention et au contrôle des infections associées aux soins de santé en tenant compte de l’ensemble du système de soins de santé et en mettant l’accent autant sur les clients, les patients et les résidents que sur les fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Le CCPMI-PCI élabore des documents sur les pratiques exemplaires qui sont fondés sur des données probantes, dans la mesure du possible, afin d’aider les organisations de soins de santé à améliorer la qualité des soins et la sécurité des clients, des patients et des résidents.

Appel de candidatures pour le CCPMI

Il n’y a pas d’appel en cours actuellement. Veuillez vérifier régulièrement si des possibilités sont offertes.

Règles régissant les conflits d’intérêts

Santé publique Ontario reconnaît la possibilité que les relations qu’entretiennent de nombreux conseillers externes avec des industries réglementées, le milieu scientifique ou des groupes d’intérêts qui reçoivent des fonds de membres de l’industrie puissent entraîner des situations de conflit d’intérêts réel ou possible, ou d’apparence de conflit d’intérêts.

Afin d’éviter ou d’atténuer les conflits d’intérêts, nous avons élaboré des règles régissant les conflits d’intérêts qui ont pour but d’atteindre un équilibre raisonnable entre ces considérations divergentes et l’expertise dont nous espérons bénéficier de la part des conseillers externes tout en évitant ou en limitant les conflits d’intérêts. À cette fin, tous les candidats devront remplir un formulaire de divulgation des conflits d’intérêts dans le cadre du processus de demande.

Pour en savoir plus

Candidatures

Dr Matthew Muller, président

Matthew Muller est présentement conseiller en maladies infectieuses à l’Hôpital St. Michael et est directeur médical de la prévention et du contrôle des infections à l’hôpital depuis 2011. M. Muller est membre du groupe de travail expert sur la prévention et le contrôle des infections de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Il est également vice-président du comité d’experts en contrôle des infections de la faculté de médecine de l’Université de Toronto. Il s’est joint au Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses – Prévention et contrôle des infections (CCPMI-PCI) en 2013 et est devenu président du comité en 2014.

Le Dr Muller a suivi sa formation en médecine interne et en maladies infectieuses à l’Université de Toronto et est titulaire d’un doctorat en épidémiologie clinique de cette université. Sa thèse de doctorat portait sur les aspects cliniques et épidémiologiques de l’épidémie de SRAS à Toronto. Dans ses recherches, il s’intéresse présentement à l’épidémiologie et à la prévention des infections associées aux soins de santé ainsi qu’aux questions d’amélioration de l’hygiène des mains, notamment aux méthodes de mesure et aux technologies dans ce domaine.

Sandra Callery, responsable des enjeux scientifiques

Sandra Callery travaille en prévention et contrôle des infections depuis de nombreuses années, et a occupé des postes de direction dans des environnements de soins de santé variés, notamment dans de petits hôpitaux communautaires, des établissements de soins de longue durée et de grands centres de soins tertiaires. Elle occupe le poste de conseillère principale en protection de la santé de Santé publique Ontario et de responsable des enjeux scientifiques du CCPMI.

Mme Callery est infirmière autorisée et détient une maîtrise ès sciences de la santé; ses recherches ont porté sur l’infection au VIH, le counseling et le dépistage. Elle a participé à des recherches et à la publication d’études sur la propagation de maladies et la gestion de patients présentant des organismes antibiorésistants. Elle fait partie du comité de rédaction de la Revue canadienne de prévention des infections.

Mme Callery est professeure adjointe en clinique à la faculté des sciences de la santé de l’Université McMaster et donne des cours en PCI au Collège Centennial et à l’Université Queen’s.

Natalie Bruce

Natalie est chef du Programme de prévention et de contrôle des infections à l'Hôpital d'Ottawa. Elle possède 17 ans d’expérience dans le domaine de la prévention et du contrôle des infections et a conservé sa certification CIC depuis 1996.
Elle est présidente du Comité de base Éducation de PCI-Canada et elle est membre du comité des examens du Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc. (CBIC) depuis 2014. Avant d’œuvrer en contrôle des infections, Natalie a travaillé comme infirmière aux soins intensifs et comme coordinatrice des donneurs d'organes.

Dr William Ciccotelli

William Ciccotelli a reçu son diplôme de l’école de médecine McMaster en 2002. Il est resté à Hamilton pour suivre des programmes d’études supérieures en médecine interne, en maladies infectieuses et en microbiologie médicale. Depuis six ans, il exerce comme conseiller en maladies infectieuses et comme microbiologiste aux hôpitaux généraux Grand River et St. Mary’s situés à Kitchener-Waterloo.

Le Dr Ciccotelli est également codirecteur médical du service de prévention et de contrôle des infections et responsable du programme conjoint de gestion des antibiotiques. Le Dr Ciccotelli a été nommé professeur adjoint à temps partiel au département de pathologie et de médecine moléculaire de l’Université McMaster. Il continue de participer aux cours sur les maladies infectieuses au campus local.

DSusy Hota

Susy Hota est épidémiologiste hospitalière et spécialiste des maladies infectieuses à l’University Health Network, et clinicienne en innovation et amélioration de la qualité à l’Université de Toronto. Elle a fait ses études en médecine, sa résidence et sa maîtrise en sciences dans les domaines de l’épidémiologie clinique et de la recherche en santé à l’Université de Toronto.

Les intérêts de Mme Hota dans les domaines cliniques et de la recherche comprennent l’amélioration du contrôle et de la gestion des infections à Clostridium difficile, la compréhension des effets à long terme de la bactériothérapie fécale et l’amélioration des interventions d’urgence du système de santé en cas de maladie infectieuse.

Vydia Nankoosingh

Vydia Nankoosingh, technologiste de laboratoire médical général, possède 11 ans d’expérience en microbiologie. Elle a débuté comme professionnelle du contrôle des infections en 2001 à l’Hôpital général de North York, où elle a travaillé principalement dans le domaine des soins actifs. Elle a également acquis de l’expérience dans des établissements de réadaptation et de soins de longue durée.

En 2004, Mme Nankoosingh s’est jointe à l’University Health Network, où elle a travaillé au sein de l’Équipe ressource de contrôle des infections (qui sera intégrée plus tard à l’Agence ontarienne de protection et de promotion de la santé), dirigé le service de consultation externe du Réseau et occupé le poste de chef d’équipe. Mme Nankoosingh travaille à l’Hôpital de Scarborough depuis 2010 comme chef de la prévention et du contrôle des infections. Elle est également membre de l’exécutif d’Infection Prevention and Control – GTA (la section locale d’IPAC-Canada) et est accréditée par la Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology depuis mars 2004.

Dre Herveen Sachdeva

Herveen Sachdeva est médecin de santé publique spécialisée en médecine préventive. Elle a occupé le poste de médecin hygiéniste adjointe au Bureau de santé publique de Toronto depuis qu’elle a terminé son stage de formation à l’Université de Toronto en 2006.

Durant ces années, elle s’est penchée sur le contrôle des maladies transmissibles, plus précisément sur le contrôle et la prévention des éclosions, et sur la prévention et le contrôle des infections en milieu communautaire. Elle est chargée de cours auxiliaire à la Dalla Lana School of Public Health de l’Université de Toronto.

Louise Azzara

Louise Azzara œuvre en santé publique depuis 24 ans comme inspectrice de la santé publique, profession qu’elle a commencé à exercer pour la province de la Saskatchewan en 1994. En 2000, elle est revenue s’installer en Ontario et elle a travaillé au Bureau de santé publique du district de Muskoka Parry Sound et au Bureau de santé publique du district de Simcoe Muskoka (BSDSM). Elle a été inspectrice de la santé publique générale jusqu’en 2002, puis s’est spécialisée en prévention et contrôle des infections (PCI) au sein des unités des enquêtes sur les maladies transmissibles et de la surveillance. En 2013, elle a obtenu le poste de coordonnatrice en PCI au BSDSM. Elle a terminé un baccalauréat en sciences (santé environnementale) en 1994 et une maîtrise en sciences (maladies infectieuses) en 2009. Elle a obtenu l’agrément en contrôle des infections (CIC) en 2013, puis de nouveau en 2017.

Laurie Streitenberger

Laurie Streitenberger est chef principale du programme de prévention et de contrôle des infections à The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids). Elle est professionnelle en contrôle des infections à SickKids depuis 1998 et infirmière autorisée depuis 1991. Son expérience touche la prévention et le contrôle des infections néonatales et pédiatriques, et elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux infections des champs opératoires.

Dr Dominik Mertz

Le Dr Mertz a suivi sa formation médicale en médecine interne et en maladies infectieuses en Suisse avant de s’installer au Canada pour terminer une maîtrise en méthodologie de la recherche en santé à l’Université McMaster. Il est présentement professeur agrégé au département de médecine et il est affilié au département consacré aux méthodes, données probantes et impacts de la recherche en santé, au département de pathologie et de médecine moléculaire, au Population Health Research Institute et au Michael G. DeGroote Institute for Infectious Diseases Research. Il occupe le poste de directeur médical, prévention et contrôle des infections, chez Hamilton Health Sciences, est réviseur à la revue BMC Infectious Diseases, enseigne à l’Université McMaster et est membre du Programme canadien de surveillance des infections nosocomiales ( PCSIN ) et de la Society of Healthcare Epidemiology of America (SHEA).

 

 

icône de messagerie

Contacter le service

Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses (CPPMI)

pidac@oahpp.ca

Mis à jour le 12 avr. 2019