COVID-19 Serosurveillance

Serosurveillance is an application of serology testing , which is a test performed on blood to detect the presence of antibodies. Serosurveillance is a common public health surveillance method.

PHO is conducting serosurveillance to better understand what proportion of the Ontario population has COVID-19 antibodies and to identify hotspots and high risk groups.  This will enable the public health system and the government to evaluate the effectiveness of the pandemic response thus far, and take targeted steps to prevent further spread of COVID-19. Also, when a vaccine becomes available, serosurveillance can help determine priority groups for vaccination and help monitor the effectiveness of vaccination programs.

The testing is being done using blood from specimens submitted for other tests performed at PHO’s laboratory since late March, 2020. The samples are representative across age groups and health regions, and are de-identified before testing to protect the privacy of the individuals. This means individuals whose samples have been tested for COVID-19 antibodies cannot be identified and will not be informed of test results. This approach to sample collection is being widely used for various COVID-19  serosurveillance initiatives across Canada, and was reviewed and endorsed by PHO’s Research and Ethics Board as well as the COVID-19 Ethics Table. 

We are also collaborating with the World Health Organization (WHO) and will contribute our ongoing serosurveillance results to WHO Unity Studies. Our results will also be made available to the Canadian COVID-19 Immunity Task Force.

Reports

Event

PHO Rounds: Mostly Worse, Occasionally Better: The First Wave of the COVID-19 Pandemic and the Mental Health of Children and Adolescents in Ontario

This large cross-sectional cohort study examined the impact of COVID-19 emergency measures on child/adolescent mental health for children/adolescents with and without pre-existing psychiatric diagnoses. 

See the Event Details
Updated 23 Oct 2020

Sérosurveillance de la COVID-19

La « sérosurveillance » est une application du test sérologique mené sur le sang pour détecter la présence d’anticorps.  La sérosurveillance est une méthode de surveillance courante en santé publique.

SPO effectue la sérosurveillance pour mieux comprendre quelle proportion de la population ontarienne possède des anticorps de la COVID-19 et pour définir les zones chaudes et les groupes à risque élevé. Cela permettra au système de santé publique et au gouvernement d’évaluer l’efficacité des mesures prises jusqu’à présent pour contenir la pandémie et de prévoir de nouvelles mesures ciblées pour prévenir sa propagation. De plus, lorsqu’un vaccin aura été mis au point, la sérosurveillance pourra aider à déterminer qui sont les groupes à vacciner en priorité et à évaluer l’efficacité des programmes de vaccination. 

Les analyses sont menées sur du sang provenant d’échantillons soumis aux laboratoires de SPO depuis mars 2020 en vue d’effectuer d’autres types d’analyses. Les échantillons sont représentatifs sur le plan des groupes d’âge et des régions sanitaires, et sont préalablement vidés de leurs renseignements identificatoires afin de protéger la vie privée des sujets. Par conséquent, les personnes dont les échantillons sanguins ont été soumis à des tests de dépistage des anticorps de la COVID-19 ne peuvent pas être identifiées et ne seront pas informées des résultats. Cette méthode de collecte d’échantillons est couramment utilisée pour une variété d’initiatives de sérosurveillance partout au Canada, et a été revue et avalisée par le Comité de recherche et de déontologie de SPO et la table d’éthique sur la COVID-19. 

Nous collaborons également avec l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et transmettrons nos résultats de sérosurveillance continue aux Unity Studies de l’OMS. Nous résultats seront également communiqués au Groupe de travail sur l’immunité face à la COVID-19 du Canada.

Rapports

Événement

PHO Rounds: Mostly Worse, Occasionally Better: The First Wave of the COVID-19 Pandemic and the Mental Health of Children and Adolescents in Ontario

This large cross-sectional cohort study examined the impact of COVID-19 emergency measures on child/adolescent mental health for children/adolescents with and without pre-existing psychiatric diagnoses. 

Voir les détails de l'événement
Mis à jour le 23 oct. 2020