Dr. Shelly Bolotin

Scientist

Photo of Dr. Shelly Bolotin
ON WHY PUBLIC HEALTH ONTARIO IS IMPORTANT

"Working at PHO gives me the opportunity to make a direct and meaningful impact on the lives of Ontarians."

Areas of Expertise

  • vaccine-preventable diseases
  • population immunity
  • sero-epidemiology
  • microbiology

Academic Degrees and Accreditations

  • Doctor of Philosophy (Microbiology), University of Toronto
  • Master of Science (Public Health), London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Master of Science (Virology), University of Toronto

PHO Research Interests

  • Epidemiological and microbiological methods to answer questions related to population immunity, in order to identify high-risk groups and predict the future risk for outbreaks or epidemics of vaccine-preventable diseases.
  • Population immunity studies that inform questions related to vaccine effectiveness, waning immunity in certain populations, correlates of population protection of vaccine-preventable diseases and evaluating our current vaccination schedules.

PHO Research Activities

  • A sero-epidemiology program to estimate population immunity to vaccine-preventable diseases, including:
    • A study to determine whether Canada meets the level of population immunity required for measles elimination, identify groups at higher risk of measles outbreaks and predict risk of future outbreaks or epidemics.
    • A study to determine whether Canada’s level of population immunity to varicella (chickenpox) is sufficient to prevent large outbreaks.
    • A study to determine the level of population immunity to mumps, and to assess whether Canada is at risk of future outbreaks due to waning vaccine-mediated immunity
    • A study to investigate the duration of maternal protection from measles in infants in measles elimination settings such as Canada in order to characterize the susceptibility gap between the time at which infants lose maternal antibody protection and vaccination.
    • A study of pertussis immunity to determine immunological differences between infected and uninfected members in the same household.
    • A study to investigate the prevalence in Ontario of Bordetella pertussis strains that are pertactin deficient.

Selected Publications

  1. Guerra FM, Crowcroft NS, Friedman L, Deeks SL, Halperin SA, Severini A, Hatchette TF, Bolotin S; Immunity of Canadians and Risk of Epidemics (iCARE) Network. Waning of measles maternal antibody in infants in measles elimination settings - a systematic literature review. Vaccine. 2018;36(10):1248-55.
  2. Bolotin S, Johnson C, Quach S, Ambrose A, DeCoutere S, Deeks SL, et al; Canadian Immunization Research Network Provincial Collaborative Network. Case-control study of household contacts to examine immunological protection from Bordetella pertussis transmission - study protocol. CMAJ Open. 2017;5(4):E872-7.
  3. Bolotin S, Lim G, Dang V, Crowcroft N, Gubbay J, Mazzulli T, et al. The utility of measles and rubella IgM serology in an elimination setting, Ontario, Canada, 2009-2014. PLoS One. 2017;12(8):e0181172.
  4. Guerra FM, Bolotin S, Lim G, Heffernan J, Deeks SL, Li Y, et al. The basic reproduction number (R0) of measles: a systematic review. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(12):e420-8.
  5. Bolotin S, Deeks SL, Marchand-Austin A, Rilkoff H, Dang V, Walton R, et al. Correlation of real time PCR cycle threshold cut-off with Bordetella pertussis clinical severity. PLoS One. 2015;10(7):e0133209.

View more publications by Dr. Shelly Bolotin on PubMed.gov


Public Health Ontario Scientist Profile: Shelly Bolotin

Dr. Shelly Bolotin discusses what excites her about her work, the impact of her research and why she chose Public Health Ontario.

Duration: 2 min

Chat icon

Contact

media@oahpp.ca

Updated 12 April 2019

Dre Shelly Bolotin

Scientifique
Recherche appliquée et évaluation en matière d'immunisation

Photo de la Dre Shelly Bolotin
DE L’IMPORTANCE DE SANTÉ PUBLIQUE ONTARIO

« Travailler au sein de SPO me donne la chance d’avoir un impact direct et significatif sur la vie des Ontariennes et des Ontariens. »

Domaines d’expertise

  • maladies évitables par la vaccination
  • immunité de la population
  • séroépidémiologie
  • microbiologie

Diplômes et agréments

  • Doctorat en philosophie (microbiologie), Université de Toronto
  • Maîtrise en sciences (santé publique), École de Londres d’hygiène et de médecine tropicale
  • Maîtrise en sciences (virologie), Université de Toronto

Intérêts de recherche liés à SPO :

  • Méthodes d’épidémiologie et de microbiologie pour répondre aux questions liées à l’immunité des populations, dans le but de déterminer les groupes à risque élevé et évaluer le risque futur d’éclosions ou d’épidémies de maladies évitables par la vaccination.
  • Études sur l’immunité des populations pour évaluer l’efficacité des vaccins, la baisse de l’immunité chez certaines populations, les corrélats de protection des populations contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination et le calendrier actuel de vaccination.

Activités de recherche actuelles liées à SPO

  • Programme de séroépidémiologie pour estimer l’immunité des populations contre les maladies évitables par la vaccination, y compris :
    • Étude visant à déterminer si le Canada présente un niveau d’immunité des populations qui permet l’élimination de la rougeole, de cerner les groupes à risque élevé d’éclosions de rougeole et d’évaluer le risque d’éclosions ou d’épidémies futures.
    • Étude visant à déterminer si le Canada présente un niveau d’immunité des populations contre la varicelle suffisamment élevé pour prévenir des éclosions à grande échelle.
    • Étude pour déterminer le niveau d'immunité de la population contre la rougeole et savoir si le Canada présente un risque d'éclosions futures en raison d'un affaiblissement de l'immunité liée au vaccin
    • Étude de la durée de la protection maternelle contre la rougeole chez les nourrissons dans un contexte d’élimination de la rougeole, comme au Canada, pour caractériser la période de susceptibilité entre le moment où les nourrissons perdent la protection par les anticorps maternels et la vaccination.
    • Étude de l’immunité contre la coqueluche pour déterminer les différences immunologiques entre les membres infectés et non infectés d’une même famille.
    • Étude pour évaluer la prévalence de souches de Bordetella pertussis en Ontario qui présentent une déficience en pertactine

Principales publications

  1. Guerra FM, Crowcroft NS, Friedman L, Deeks SL, Halperin SA, Severini A, Hatchette TF, Bolotin S; Immunity of Canadians and Risk of Epidemics (iCARE) Network. Waning of measles maternal antibody in infants in measles elimination settings - a systematic literature review. Vaccine. 2018;36(10):1248-55.
  2. Bolotin S, Johnson C, Quach S, Ambrose A, DeCoutere S, Deeks SL, et al; Canadian Immunization Research Network Provincial Collaborative Network. Case-control study of household contacts to examine immunological protection from Bordetella pertussis transmission - study protocol. CMAJ Open. 2017;5(4):E872-7.
  3. Bolotin S, Lim G, Dang V, Crowcroft N, Gubbay J, Mazzulli T, et al. The utility of measles and rubella IgM serology in an elimination setting, Ontario, Canada, 2009-2014. PLoS One. 2017;12(8):e0181172.
  4. Guerra FM, Bolotin S, Lim G, Heffernan J, Deeks SL, Li Y, et al. The basic reproduction number (R0) of measles: a systematic review. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(12):e420-8.
  5. Bolotin S, Deeks SL, Marchand-Austin A, Rilkoff H, Dang V, Walton R, et al. Correlation of real time PCR cycle threshold cut-off with Bordetella pertussis clinical severity. PLoS One. 2015;10(7):e0133209.

Pour voir plus de publications par la Dre Shelly Bolotin sur PubMed.gov

Public Health Ontario Scientist Profile: Shelly Bolotin

Dr. Shelly Bolotin discusses what excites her about her work, the impact of her research and why she chose Public Health Ontario.

Durée : 2 minutes

icône de messagerie

Contacter le Service

Média

media@oahpp.ca

Mis à jour le 12 avr. 2019