Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococcus (VRE) Program of Research

The intersection of applied research, IPAC practices, and policy development create unique opportunities to better answer and inform challenging IPAC questions. Best practices for Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococcus (VRE) control strategies have been an ongoing discussion in Ontario since 2012.

The goal of the VRE program of research is to synthesize the available data on the impacts of VRE control strategies to help inform the best practice guidance for the prevention of VRE.

The Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee on Infection, Prevention and Control (PIDAC-IPC) has reviewed recent research and updated their recommendations on Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococcus (VRE) control in health care settings:

In response to stakeholder requests for more evidence on the impacts of VRE IPAC strategies, PHO has developed a diverse VRE program of research that asks four key questions: 

Are outcomes different for VRE vs VSE (Vancomycin-Susceptible Enterococcus) bacteremia?

To answer this question, PHO conducted a systematic review. Titled "VRE and VSE Bacteremia Outcomes in the Era of Effective VRE Therapy: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis”, the review was published in the Journal of Infection Control and Hospital Epidemiology in October 2015. The key finding was that VRE bacteremia mortality burden is greater than that of VSE bacteremia, even following the availability of effective anti-VRE treatments (OR 1.80 [1.38, 2.35]: I2=0%).

Are VRE screening and isolation practices associated with rates of VRE+ blood cultures? 

To answer this question, PHO conducted a study to examine the VRE-positive blood culture trends in Ontario from January 2009 to June 2015 using patient safety public reporting data, in combination with the results from an annual screening and isolation practices scan conducted in 2013, 2014 and 2015. The study entitled "Rates of blood cultures positive for vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus in Ontario: a quasi-experimental study" was published in CMAJ Open in April 2017. Key findings from this study include: 

  • Rates of VRE-positive blood cultures have doubled in Ontario between January 2009 and July 2015
  • Discontinuation of VRE screening was associated with an increased rate of rise of VRE-positive blood cultures
  • While VRE positive blood cultures have increased in both screening and non-screening hospitals over time, discontinuation of VRE screening was associated with an increased rate of rise in VRE positive blood cultures  

What are the risk factors for VRE+ blood cultures?

To answer this question, PHO in partnership with ICES in 2018 published a population-based case control study entitled, “Patient- and hospital-level predictors of vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus (VRE) bacteremia in Ontario, Canada” in the American Journal of Infection Control  that looked at a cohort of 217 VRE positive patients in Ontario from January 2009 to December 2013. Key results from this study include: 

  • Forty percent of patients with VRE bacteremia died within 30 days.
  • Patients with a bone marrow transplant, solid organ transplant, cancer, or who are admitted to      the intensive care unit are at highest risk of VRE bacteremia.
  • Larger hospital size and teaching hospitals were independent predictors of VRE bacteremia

What are the economic impacts associated with VRE IPAC strategies?

To answer this question, PHO is conducting a systematic review on the economic impacts of infection control interventions for VRE, such as screening and isolation practices. Results from this systematic review are expected fall 2019. 

Further, in partnership with ICES PHO is conducting a population-based case cohort study of hospitalized patients with confirmed VRE bacteremia in Ontario, Canada, between January 2009 and December 2013 to evaluate the costs attributable to VRE bacteremia from the healthcare payer perspective.  Results from this study are expected winter 2019. 

PIDAC Recommendation

The Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee on Infection Prevention and Control (PIDAC-IPC) has re-assessed its evidence-based guidance for VRE control and in 2019 recommends that all acute care and chronic care hospitals as well as long-term care homes continue to perform risk-factor-based screening on admission and Contact Precautions for VRE. The findings and priorities for future research, together with the revised recommendations, are summarized in the document: Evidence Review and Revised Recommendations for the Control of Vancomycin-Resistant Enterococci in All Ontario Health Care Facilities.

For more information on the VRE program of research or for any questions related to VRE IPAC strategies, please contact ipac@oahpp.ca.

Updated 22 Oct 2019

Programme de recherche sur les entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine (ERV)

Le recoupement de la recherche appliquée, des pratiques en prévention et contrôle des infections (PCI) et de l’élaboration de politiques offre des occasions uniques de mieux répondre aux difficiles questions sur la PCI. Les pratiques exemplaires en matière de stratégies de lutte contre les entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine (ERV) font l’objet de discussions en Ontario depuis 2012.

Le programme de recherche sur les ERV a pour but de synthétiser les données disponibles sur l’efficacité des stratégies de lutte contre les ERV pour renseigner les pratiques exemplaires de prévention des ERV. 

Le Comité consultatif provincial sur les maladies infectieuses – prévention et contrôle des infections (CCPMI-PCI) a examiné des recherches récentes et mis à jour leurs recommandations concernant le contrôle des entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine (ERV) dans les établissements de soins de santé :

En réponse aux demandes des intervenants qui voulaient davantage de données probantes sur l’utilité des stratégies de PCI à ERV, SPO a créé un programme de recherche sur les ERV qui se penche sur quatre questions fondamentales :

Les résultats diffèrent-ils entre les bactériémies à ERV et celles à ESV (entérocoques sensibles à la vancomycine?

Pour répondre à cette question, SPO a effectué un examen systématique intitulé VRE and VSE Bacteremia Outcomes in the Era of Effective VRE Therapy: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis et publié dans le Journal of Infection Control and Hospital Epidemiology en octobre 2015. La principale conclusion de cet examen était que la charge de mortalité associée à la bactériémie à ERV est supérieure à celle associée à la bactériémie à ESV, même après des traitements anti ERV efficaces (rapport des cotes 1,80 [1,38, 2,35] : I2=0 %).

Y a-t-il un lien entre, d’une part, les tests de dépistage des ERV et les mesures d’isolement et, d’autre part, les taux d’hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV?

Pour répondre à cette question, SPO mené une étude sur les tendances des taux d’hémocultures indiquant la présence d’ERV en Ontario de janvier 2009 à juin 2015 à partir des données publiques sur la sécurité des patients, parallèlement à l’analyse des résultats des tests de dépistage et des mesures d’isolement effectuée en 2013, 2014 et 2015. L’étude, intitulée Rates of blood cultures positive for vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus in Ontario: a quasi-experimental study, a été publiée dans CMAJ Open en avril 2017. Les principales conclusions de l’étude sont les suivantes : 

  • Les taux d’hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV ont doublé en Ontario entre janvier 2009 et juillet 2015.
  • On a établi un lien entre l’interruption des tests de dépistage d’ERV et une hausse du taux d’hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV.
  • Bien que les taux d’hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV aient augmenté au fil du temps tant dans les hôpitaux qui faisaient des tests de dépistage d’ERV que dans ceux qui n’en faisaient pas, on a établi un lien entre l’interruption de ces tests et une hausse plus marquée des taux d’hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV.  

Quels sont les facteurs de risque associés aux hémocultures révélant la présence d’ERV?

Pour répondre à cette question, SPO et l’ICES ont publié en 2018 une étude cas-témoins représentatifs de la population intitulée Patient- and hospital-level predictors of vancomycin-resistant Enterococcus (VRE) bacteremia in Ontario, Canada” dans l’American Journal of Infection Control. L’étude, menée de janvier 2009 à décembre 2013, a porté sur une cohorte de 217 patients porteurs d’ERV. Les principales conclusions de l’étude sont les suivantes : 

  • Quarante pour cent des patients atteints d’une bactériémie à ERV sont morts dans les 30 jours.
  • Les patients recevant une greffe de moelle osseuse ou d’un organe solide, ceux atteints d’un cancer ou ceux qui sont admis à l’unité des soins intensifs sont plus à risque d’être atteints d’une bactériémie à ERV.
  • Les grands hôpitaux et les hôpitaux universitaires sont des indicateurs prévisionnels indépendants de la bactériémie à EVR.

Quelles sont les incidences économiques associées aux stratégies de PCI à ERV?

Pour répondre à cette question, SPO effectue un examen systématique des répercussions économiques des mesures de lutte contre les infections à ERV, comme les tests de dépistage et l’isolement. Les résultats de cet examen devraient être connus à l’automne 2019.

De plus, SPO et l’ICES mènent conjointement une étude de cohortes représentatives de la population auprès de patients hospitalisés atteints d’une bactériémie à ERV confirmée en Ontario de janvier 2009 à décembre 2013, afin d’évaluer les coûts attribuables aux bactériémies à ERV pour les contribuables. Les résultats de cette étude devraient être connus à l’hiver 2019. 

Recommandation du CCPMI

Le Comité consultatif provincial des maladies infectieuses- Prévention et contrôle des infections (CCPMI-PCI) a réévalué ses conseils fondés sur des éléments probants relativement au contrôle des ERV et, en 2019, il recommande que tous les hôpitaux de soins aigus et de soins chroniques, ainsi que les foyers de soins de longue durée, continuent d’effectuer des tests de dépistage des ERV fondés sur les facteurs de risque lors de l’admission et de prendre des précautions contre la transmission des EVR par contact. Les conclusions et les priorités aux fins des futurs travaux de recherche, de même que les recommandations révisées, sont résumées dans le document intitulé Examen des données probantes et recommandations révisées pour le contrôle des entérocoques résistants à la vancomycine dans tous les établissements de soins de santé de l’Ontario.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le programme de recherche sur les ERV ou pour toute question sur les stratégies de PCI à ERV, veuillez écrire à l’adresse ipac@oahpp.ca.

Mis à jour le 12 avr. 2019