Conducting COVID-19 PCR Testing at PHO

PCR testing (also known as polymerase chain reaction testing), is a type of test that tells us if someone currently has COVID-19. This is in contrast to serology testing, which tests someone’s blood to see if they have generated antibodies in response to COVID-19 infection, this primarily tells us if someone previously had COVID-19. Find out more about the difference between these two types of tests and their application.

PCR testing is performed in the lab to help us find even tiny amounts of the virus. It does this by amplifying a virus’ genetic material to a level where it can be detected. The test requires a sample from a person. This sample is collected by a health care provider, typically using a swab inserted into a person’s nose or throat.

Inside PHO for COVID-19 Testing

Laboratory testing is an essential component of Ontario’s response to COVID-19. Not only because it tells us if someone has COVID-19 or not, but also because it sheds light on where and how the virus is spreading. This video illustrates how PCR testing for COVID-19 works.

Duration: 2 min

The Journey of a COVID-19 Sample Tested at PHO

  • Once we receive a sample, the information about the sample and the patient is entered into our laboratory information system (LIS) for tracking.
  • Then, a technologist uses chemicals (referred to as “reagents”) and equipment to extract the genetic material from the sample collected on the swab.
  • That extracted material is then placed into a tube which contains new reagents.
  • That tube is placed in a machine that can run tests on many tubes at once. This machine enables the PCR “reaction” to make millions of copies of a piece of the viral DNA. This process is called “amplification.”
  • This amplification process allows even a small amount of virus to be detected if it is present in the sample.
  • If the piece of DNA cannot be copied, there is no virus in the sample, or there is such a low amount that even this very sensitive test cannot detect it.

What happens after the test is done?

  • The results are entered into our LIS and the health care provider who ordered the test is sent the result.
  • The person who was tested is then informed of their results by the doctor (or the institution that ordered the test), or gets their results from the Government of Ontario’s results portal. For privacy reasons, PHO does not provide test results directly to patients.
  • Positive COVID-19 results are also sent to the local public health unit for the area where the sample was taken. The health unit follows up with the person who has tested positive to provide them with instructions on how to self-isolate and interviews them to inform contact tracing efforts.

Health Care Providers

See our COVID-19 Test Information Sheet for details about collecting and submitting a sample and our COVID-19 Laboratory Testing Frequently Asked Questions.

Event

The Fourth Wave: Child and Family Health and Well-being During the COVID-19 Pandemic

This webinar focuses on Ontario-specific data from two sources: a province-wide survey that was launched by the Offord Centre for Child Studies from May to June 2020, which focused on caregiver and family functioning during COVID-19.

See the Event Details
Updated 16 Sep 2020

Le dépistage par RCP de la COVID-19 à SPO

Le test par RPC (ou tests par réaction en chaîne de la polymérase) est un type de test qui indique si une personne a la COVID-19 à l’heure actuelle. Il se distingue du test sérologique, qui analyse le sang pour déterminer si une personne a développé des anticorps en réaction à une infection à la COVID-19 dont elle a guéri. Apprenez-en davantage sur la différence entre ces deux types de tests et leurs applications.

Le dépistage de la COVID 19 à SPO

Les tests de laboratoire font partie intégrante de la stratégie ontarienne de gestion de la COVID-19. Ils permettent non seulement d’identifier les personnes atteintes de la maladie, mais aussi de déterminer les endroits où a lieu la transmission et les modes de transmission. Cette vidéo explique le fonctionnement du test ACP de la COVID-19.

Durée : 2 minutes

Effectués en laboratoire, le test de RCP nous aide à déceler le virus, même en quantité infime. Il y parvient en amplifiant le matériel génétique du virus à un niveau permettant de le détecter. Le test exige le prélèvement d’un échantillon. L’échantillon est recueilli par un fournisseur de soins de santé, généralement en insérant un écouvillon dans le nez ou la gorge de la personne.

Parcours d’un échantillon soumis à un test de dépistage de la COVID-19 à SPO

  • Une fois que nous recevons l’échantillon, nous entrons l’information sur l’échantillon et le patient dans notre système d’information de laboratoire à des fins de suivi.
  • Un technologue se sert ensuite de produits chimiques (les « réactifs ») et de matériel de laboratoire pour extraire le matériel génétique prélevé à l’aide de l’écouvillon.
  • Le matériel ainsi extrait est transféré dans un tube qui contient des nouveaux réactifs.
  • Le tube est placé dans une machine capable d’analyser plusieurs échantillons à la fois. Cette machine déclenche la RCP pour créer des millions de copies d’une portion d’ADN viral. Ce processus est appelé « amplification ».
  • Le processus d’amplification permet de détecter la présence, même minuscule, du virus dans l’échantillon.
  • S’il est impossible de copier la portion d’ADN, cela signifie que l’échantillon ne contient pas le virus ou en contient une quantité si infime que même ce test très sensible ne peut le détecter.

Qu’arrive-t-il une fois le test effectué?

  • Le résultat est entré dans notre système d’information de laboratoire et envoyé au fournisseur de soins ayant demandé le test.
  • La personne testée est ensuite informée du résultat par le médecin (ou l’établissement ayant demandé le test) ou obtient son résultat sur le portail du gouvernement de l’Ontario. Pour des raisons de confidentialité, SPO ne fournit pas de résultats des tests directement aux patients.
  • Dans le cas de la COVID-19, les résultats positifs sont également transmis au bureau de santé publique de la région d’où provient l’échantillon. Le bureau de santé assure le suivi de la situation en communiquant avec la personne, lui expliquant comment s’isoler et l’interrogeant sur ses déplacements pour faciliter la recherche de contacts.

Fournisseurs de soins de santé

Consultez notre fiche de renseignements sur le dépistage par RCP de la COVID-19  pour obtenir des précisions sur la collecte et la transmission d’un échantillon, et notre foire aux questions sur le dépistage de la COVID-19 en laboratoire.

Événement

PHO Rounds: International Border Surveillance Study

Arriving international passengers at Toronto’s Pearson International Airport were enrolled in a prospective study of COVID-19 risk upon arrival and during quarantine in September and October 2020.  

Voir les détails de l'événement
Mis à jour le 16 sept. 2020