Sentinel Practitioner Surveillance Network (SPSN) — Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness Program

Influenza surveillance is important for controlling the spread of influenza in Ontario. The Sentinel Practitioner Surveillance Network – Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness Monitoring (SPSN) looks at influenza vaccine effectiveness to help inform Ontario’s vaccine policies. This program also contributes to a provincial, national and international lens on influenza activity including monitoring and responding to outbreaks, epidemics and pandemics, as well as vaccine strain selection.

Current Influenza Season Updates

During this influenza season in the southern hemisphere (2017) influenza A (H3) was the predominant subtype circulating in South America, Africa and Oceania (WHO, Review of global influenza activity, October 2016– October 2017). The trivalent seasonal vaccine for this season (2017-18) in the northern hemisphere includes both subtypes of influenza A (H3N2 and H1N1pdm09), as well as influenza B (Victoria lineage), but the exact match and effectiveness can only be determined through testing. This season's quadrivalent influenza vaccine includes influenza B (Yamagata lineage).

Background

The goal of SPSN is to evaluate how well the influenza vaccine works each year. The SPSN relies on a network of primary care practitioners in each participating province to collect and submit respiratory specimens for testing and analysis. Ontario has been part of the SPSN since 2008.

How it Works

Participation in the program is voluntary. Sentinels (primary care practitioners including family physicians and nurses in the extended class/nurse practitioners) can sign up annually to be a part of the SPSN. Over the period of the program, sentinels are required to submit one to two specimens per week of patients presenting with influenza-like symptoms. Along with the specimen, sentinels complete a short questionnaire on the test requisition to provide a brief influenza immunization history of the patient. Specimens are sent to PHO’s laboratory where they are tested for influenza as part of the program. Test results, with the immunization history, are used for surveillance, as well as to estimate vaccine effectiveness.

Information generated by the SPSN is used to help inform Canada’s and Ontario’s vaccine policies, as well as assist the World Health Organization (WHO) in their vaccine strain selection process.

Ethics Review

The province received provincial ethics board approval to participate in the study. British Columbia, Alberta and Quebec are also participating. The study is conducted in collaboration with the College of Family Physicians of Canada National Research System.

We rely on sentinel practitioners to help us monitor influenza in the community setting and evaluate the performance of influenza vaccines.

When you join our study, you help to accurately measure circulating influenza strains in Ontario, including novel strains (H7N9), variant strains (H3N2v) and others. You also:

  • Help to inform Canada’s vaccination policies.
  • Help to inform the World Health Organization strain selection committee for the Northern Hemisphere.
  • Receive timely results about your patients’ diagnoses.
  • Bring valuable knowledge to your practice, including tracking of influenza activity.

Who Can Participate?

Primary care practitioners (family physician or nurse practitioner) practicing in Ontario and interested in:

  • Knowing the results of influenza testing for their patients
  • Contributing to influenza surveillance in the community
  • Understanding how the influenza vaccine works each year

Requirements for Participation

1

Fill out a Consent Form and send it back to us.

2

Following your consent, you will receive an information package with instructions and a set of influenza test kits from Public Health Ontario laboratory.

3

Use these test kits to collect a nasopharyngeal (preferred) or nasal swab from patients presenting to your practice within seven days of influenza-like illness (ILI) onset, as per the FluWatch ILI case definition. Specimen collection can commence as soon as you receive your collection kits and continue until the end of the current influenza season or until notified by the SPSN coordinator.

4

Submit an average of one to two specimens per week (20-25 in total) from your eligible patients during the study period to PHO laboratory. The laboratory will test the respiratory specimens sent for diagnosis as part of this study and send you the results within one week.*

5

Complete a brief questionnaire as part of the laboratory requisition form for each specimen. Together with the laboratory information and test results, these questions enable us to estimate vaccine effectiveness. It's essential that you fully complete the questionnaire. A partially completed questionnaire may result in the specimen being excluded from the vaccine effectiveness analysis. The specimen will still be tested and the results reported.

* We encourage sentinel physicians to register to for PHO’s Autofax service for a timely report of lab results. Please contact Customer Service Centre at 416-235-6556 or 1-877-604-4567 (toll free) to register.

Compensation

You will be compensated at the rate of $10 per specimen sent to the laboratory with a completed short questionnaire.

How to Take Part in the Study?

Fill out a Consent Form and email it to spsn.on@publichealthontario.ca or fax it back to Romy Olsha, Vaccine Effectiveness Coordinator at 416-596-1799.

This page contains information for sentinel physicians on collecting specimens, completing the requisition form, transporting specimens and reporting results. See the Instruction Sheet for full details.

Collecting Specimens

  • Wear gloves and a face mask to protect yourself.
  • Ask patients who have copious discharge to gently clean their nose with a tissue or wash it.
  • Collect an appropriate nasopharyngeal (preferred) or nasal specimen.
  • Place the swab into the accompanying vial of universal transport medium. Break the swab at its break point so that the swab stays in the vial. Tighten the lid securely.
  • Label the vial with the patient’s full name and date of birth. Place the specimen in the biohazard bag provided and seal the specimen pocket of the bag using the adhesive strip.
  • Refrigerate at 4°C until transported to the lab.

Completing the Requisition Form

Complete all fields of the SPSN – Vaccine Effectiveness Test Requisition Form provided:

  • Fill out one form for each submitted specimen.
  • Under clinician/referring laboratory, enter the full name and billing address of the practitioner/facility to which the final report will be sent.
  • Enter the specimen collection date in the appropriate box.
  • Complete the questionnaire to help assess vaccine effectiveness in protecting against laboratory-confirmed influenza.
  • For each specimen, place the completed form in the outside pocket of each biohazard bag.
  • Use one biohazard bag for each specimen and the accompanying completed requisition form.

Transporting Specimens

  • Submit SPSN specimens to PHO’s laboratory via your usual lab submission route.

Reporting Results

Results will be reported directly to the submitter’s office. You will receive results from the Laboratory Information System using the AutoFax system. To register for AutoFax, call PHO’s Customer Service Centre at 416-235-6556 or 1-877-604-4567.

1. How many respiratory specimens should be taken by each sentinel practitioner?

This may vary, but based on statistical power calculations and experience from several influenza seasons, it is anticipated that an average of one to two specimens per week may be submitted by each sentinel practitioner over the course of the study period for a total of 20-25 specimens per season. In the national collaboration between British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario and Quebec, we are aiming for a total of 3,000 respiratory specimens as part of this study.

2. When should I start taking specimens from patients presenting with symptoms of influenza-like illness this year?

You can start submitting specimens as soon as you receive the information package and testing kits.

3. Which patients are eligible for inclusion?

Any patient who is a resident of Ontario, who presents in your practice with symptoms of an influenza-like illness (ILI) (as per the FluWatch definition) within one week of ILI symptom onset.

You should collect a nasopharyngeal (preferred) or nasal swab using the test kits for influenza testing.

You will be notified if specimen collection for the purpose of this study will change. Please note that it is important that you collect respiratory specimens from patients who are residents of Ontario and who are presenting within seven days of ILI onset, whether they received the influenza vaccine or not.

For the 2016-17 season, we also ask that special emphasis is given to patients 65 years and older since this age group has been underrepresented in previous years.

4. Should I submit SPSN specimens to the laboratory where I usually send respiratory specimens?

Yes. Starting with the 2017-18 season sentinels can now submit SPSN specimens to PHO’s laboratory via their routine lab submission process. Specimens will be directed to PHO by your lab.

5. Will I be compensated for my time?

Yes. Your time, effort and participation are much appreciated. Participating sentinel practitioners will be compensated $10 for each specimen submitted with a completed SPSN-specific requisition. Reimbursement will be made at the end of each period.

6. Has this study received ethics approval and if so, what special ethics requirements are there?

The SPSN’s methodology has been reviewed by ethics boards in each participating province every year since 2004. This means that separate ethics review and approval has been granted in each of British Columbia, Alberta, Ontario and Quebec (four separate reviews). For the 2018-2019 season, ethics approval will be requested in the Fall of 2018. As part of the program, sentinel physicians and nurse practitioners are required to inform their eligible patients and elicit verbal consent to participate through specimen collection and questionnaire completion. A verbal consent script has been drafted by SPSN investigators for this purpose and is included with the study material sent to consenting sentinels.

7. Who else participates in this study?

In each participating province, a team of epidemiologists and laboratory investigators has been established. These investigators have been working collaboratively for several years and Ontario investigators and sentinel physicians will again join that team of provincial investigators this season.

8. How will vaccine effectiveness be calculated?

Vaccine effectiveness (VE) against laboratory confirmed influenza is calculated by SPSN researchers based on a case control design. Using the laboratory results (either positive or negative for influenza) and the answers to the questions accompanying the laboratory requisition (e.g., recent influenza immunization history), vaccine status is compared for those with and without influenza. The program is based on the understanding that not everyone with influenza-like illness will have influenza. Those who test positive for influenza are counted as cases, whereas those who test negative for influenza become the controls. Immunization rates among these two groups are used for VE estimation.

9. Where will this analysis be done nationally and how will confidentiality be preserved?

Since 2004, an overall vaccine effectiveness result has been calculated for all participating provinces combined nationally through statistical analysis at the British Columbia Centre for Disease Control (BCCDC).

Data from Quebec, Ontario, and Alberta that are shared with BCCDC in calculating this combined estimate do not include any personal identifiers and conditions, as specified by ethics boards. Absolutely no personal identifying information will be transmitted. Only the influenza test result and relevant epidemiologic information provided on the requisition are shared for the sole purpose of calculating an aggregate vaccine effectiveness result. At each level, all data is stored in a secure and locked facility. Dr. Danuta Skowronski, principal investigator, is located at the BCCDC.

10. Do I need special equipment for the study?

You will need:

11. Where can I get more information about what else is circulating in my area?

Please refer to the Ontario Respiratory Pathogen Bulletin for more information.

12. How do I receive results for specimens I submitted?

In order to reduce the turnaround time and increase the efficiency of testing and reporting, results will be reported automatically by the Laboratory Information System using the AutoFax system. To register for AutoFax, please contact the Toronto Public Health Laboratory’s Customer Service Centre at 416-235-6556 or 1-877-604-4567.


A list of recent publications by the SPSN:

  1. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Hickman R, Chan T, Jassem AN, Drews SJ, Charest H, Gubbay JB, Bastien N, Li Y, Krajden M. Early season co-circulation of influenza A(H3N2) and B(Yamagata): interim estimates of 2017/18 vaccine effectiveness, Canada, January 2018. Euro Surveill. 2018 Feb;23(5). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2018.23.5.18-00035.
  2. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, De Serres G, Drews SJ, Jassem A, Gubbay JB, Charest H, Balshaw R, Bastien N, Li Y, Krajden M. Interim estimates of 2016/17 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H3N2), Canada, January 2017. Euro Surveill. 2017; 22(6). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2017.22.6.30460
  3. Chambers C, Skowronski DM, Sabaiduc S, Winter AL, Dickinson JA, De Serres G, Gubbay JB, Drews SJ, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Krajden M, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2015/16 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H1N1)pdm09, Canada, February 2016. Euro Surveill. 2016;21(11). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2016.21.11.30168.
  4. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Winter AL, Dickinson JA, Krajden M, Gubbay JB, Drews SJ, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Kwindt TL, Bastien N, Li Y. A Perfect Storm: Impact of Genomic Variation and Serial Vaccination on Low Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness during the 2014-2015 Season. Clin Infect Dis. 2016 Jul 1;63(1):21-32. doi: 10.1093/cid/ciw176. Epub 2016 Mar 29.
  5. Skowronski DM, Sabaiduc S, Chambers C, Eshaghi A, Gubbay JB, Krajden M, Drews SJ, Martineau C, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Bastien N, Li Y. Mutations acquired during cell culture isolation may affect antigenic characterisation of influenza A(H3N2) clade 3C.2a viruses. Euro Surveill. 2016;21(3):30112. doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2016.21.3.30112.
  6. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, et al. Integrated Sentinel Surveillance Linking Genetic, Antigenic, and Epidemiologic Monitoring of Influenza Vaccine-Virus Relatedness and Effectiveness During the 2013-2014 Influenza Season. J Infect Dis. 2015 Mar 17. pii: jiv177.
  7. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Drews SJ, Fonseca K, Charest H, Gubbay JB, Petric M, Krajden M, Kwindt TL, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2014/15 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H3N2) from Canada’s Sentinel Physician Surveillance Network, January 2015. Euro Surveill. 2015;20(4):pii=21022.
  8. Skowronski DM, Janjua NZ, De Serres G, Sabaiduc S, Eshaghi A, et al. (2014) Low 2012–13 Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness Associated with Mutation in the Egg-Adapted H3N2 Vaccine Strain Not Antigenic Drift in Circulating Viruses. PLoS ONE 9(3): e92153. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0092153
  9. Danuta M. Skowronski, Naveed Z. Janjua, Suzana Sabaiduc, Gaston De Serres, Anne-Luise Winter, Jonathan B. Gubbay, James A. Dickinson, Kevin Fonseca, Hugues Charest, Nathalie Bastien, Yan Li, Trijntje L. Kwindt, Salaheddin M. Mahmud, Paul Van Caeseele, Mel Krajden, and Martin Petric Influenza A/Subtype and B/Lineage Effectiveness Estimates for the 2011–2012 Trivalent Vaccine: Cross-Season and Cross-Lineage Protection With Unchanged Vaccine J Infect Dis. (2014) 210 (1): 126-137
  10. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Fonseca K, Gubbay JB, Charest H, Petric M, Krajden M, Mahmud SM, Van Caeseele P, Kwindt TL, Eshaghi A, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2013/14 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H1N1)pdm09 from Canada’s sentinel surveillance network, January 2014. Euro Surveill. 2014;19(5):pii=20690.
Chat icon

Contact the Sentinel Practitioner Surveillance Network

spsn.on@oahpp.ca

contact lab

Contact Laboratory Customer Service

Laboratory Services

customerservicecentre@oahpp.ca

Updated 27 April 2019

Sentinel Practitioner Surveillance Network (SPSN) – Suivi de l’efficacité des vaccins antigrippaux

Il est important de surveiller la grippe afin de limiter sa prolifération en Ontario.  Le suivi de l’efficacité des vaccins antigrippaux du Sentinel Practitioner Surveillance Network (SPSN) permet d’orienter les politiques d’immunisation de l’Ontario. Ce programme  contribue également à fournir une optique de l’activité grippale à l’échelle provinciale, nationale et internationale, notamment sur le plan de la surveillance et de l’intervention en cas d’éclosion, d’épidémie et de pandémie de grippe, de même que sur le plan de la sélection des souches aux fins  des vaccins.

Mises à jour concernant la saison de la grippe

Durant la saison de la grippe dans l’hémisphère Sud en 2017, le virus grippal A (H3) était le principal sous-type circulant en Amérique du Sud, en Afrique et en Océanie (Bilan de l’activité grippale mondiale d’octobre 2016 à octobre 2017, OMS).  Le vaccin antigrippal trivalent pour la saison 2017-2018 dans l’hémisphère Nord inclut les deux sous-types du virus grippal A (H3N2 et H1N1pdm09) ainsi que le virus grippal B (lignée Victoria), mais la correspondance exacte et l’efficacité ne peuvent être établies qu’au moyen de tests. Le vaccin antigrippal quadrivalent saisonnier comporte le virus grippal B (lignée Yamagata).

Renseignements généraux

Le SPSN a pour but d’évaluer l’efficacité du vaccin antigrippal chaque année. Il s’appuie sur un réseau de professionnels de la santé en soins primaires dans chaque province participante pour le prélèvement et la soumission d’échantillons aux fins d’analyses. L’Ontario fait partie du SPSN depuis 2008. 

Fonctionnement du programme

La participation au programme se fait sur une base volontaire. Les sentinelles (les professionnels de la santé en soins primaires, notamment les médecins de famille, les infirmières et infirmiers de  formation supérieure et les infirmières et infirmiers praticiens) peuvent s’inscrire au SPSN chaque année. Tout au long du programme, les sentinelles doivent soumettre chaque semaine un ou deux échantillons respiratoires prélevés sur des patients qui présentent des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe. Ils doivent aussi remplir un court questionnaire sur le formulaire de réquisition d’analyse à propos des antécédents de vaccination du patient.  Les échantillons sont envoyés au laboratoire de SPO qui procède à des tests de diagnostic de la grippe dans le cadre du programme. Les résultats de ces tests, ainsi que les antécédents de vaccination, sont utilisés à des fins de surveillance et pour évaluer l’efficacité des vaccins.  

Les données obtenues dans le cadre du SPSN servent à orienter les politiques de vaccination du Canada et de l’Ontario,  en plus d’aider l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) dans la sélection des souches qui entretront dans les vaccins.

Examen éthique 

La province a reçu de la Commission provinciale d'évaluation éthique l’autorisation de participer à l’étude. La Colombie-Britannique (en anglais), l’Alberta et le Québec y prennent également part. Le SPSN est géré en collaboration avec le Système national de recherche du Collège des médecins de famille du Canada.

 

Nous comptons sur les professionnels de la santé sentinelles pour nous aider à surveiller la grippe au sein de la communauté et à évaluer l’efficacité des vaccins antigrippaux.

Lorsque vous vous joignez à notre étude, vous contribuez à la mesure précise des souches de grippe circulant en Ontario, notamment les nouvelles souches (H7N9) et les souches variantes (H3N2v). De plus, vous :

  • Contribuez à orienter les politiques du Canada en matière de vaccination.
  • Contribuez à informer le comité de sélection des souches de l’OMS pour l’hémisphère Nord.
  • Recevez rapidement les résultats sur le diagnostic de vos patients.
  • Intégrez de précieuses connaissances à votre pratique, y compris à l’égard du suivi de l’activité grippale.

Qui peut participer?

Les professionnels de la santé en soins primaires (médecins de famille ou infirmières et infirmiers praticiens) qui exercent en Ontario et qui souhaitent : 

  • Connaître les résultats des tests de diagnostic de la grippe de leur patients.
  • Contribuer à la surveillance de la grippe dans leur communauté.
  • Comprendre la façon dont fonctionne les vaccins antigrippaux annuels.

Conditions de participation

1

Remplissez et envoyez-nous un formulaire de consentement (en anglais).

2

Une fois que vous aurez donné votre consentement, vous recevrez une pochette d’information comprenant des instructions et un ensemble de trousses de prélèvement provenant des laboratoires de Santé publique Ontario (SPO).

3

Utilisez ces trousses pour prélever un échantillon nasopharyngien (de préférence) ou nasal sur des patients venus vous consulter et qui présentent des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe depuis sept jours ou moins, selon la définition de cas établie dans le document Surveillance de l'influenza. Le prélèvement d’échantillons commence dès que vous recevez vos trousses de prélèvement et se termine à la fin de la saison de grippe en cours ou dès la réception d’un avis du coordonnateur du SPSN.

4

Durant la période de l’étude, envoyez aux laboratoires de SPO en moyenne un ou deux échantillons par semaine (de 20 à 25 au total) provenant de patients admissibles. Les laboratoires analyseront les échantillons respiratoires envoyés à des fins diagnostiques dans le cadre de l’étude et vous enverront les résultats dans un délai d’une semaine*.

5

Remplissez le court questionnaire accompagnant le formulaire de réquisition d’analyse de chaque échantillon. Combinées aux renseignements du laboratoire et aux résultats des analyses, les réponses à ces questions nous permettront d’évaluer l’efficacité des vaccins. Il est très important de remplir le questionnaire au complet. Un formulaire incomplet  pourrait entraîner l’exclusion de l’échantillon aux fins de l’étude sur l’efficacité des vaccins antigrippaux. L’échantillon sera toutefois analysé, et les résultats vous seront communiqués.

* Nous invitons les professionnels de la santé sentinelles à s’inscrire au service de télécopie automatique Autofax de SPO afin de recevoir rapidement les résultats d’analyse. Pour vous inscrire, veuillez téléphoner au centre de service à la clientèle, au 416 235 6556 ou, sans frais, au 1 877 604 4567.

Rétribution

En guise de rétribution, vous recevrez 10 $ par échantillon envoyé au laboratoire avec un questionnaire dûment rempli.

Comment participer à l'étude? 

Remplissez un formulaire de consentement (en anglais) et envoyez-le par courriel à spsn.on@publichealthontario.ca, ou par télécopieur à Romy Olsha, coordonnateur de l’étude, au 416 596-1799.

Cette page contient des renseignements à l’intention des professionnels de la santé sentinelles concernant le prélèvement des échantillons, le formulaire de réquisition et la communication des résultats. Consultez la feuille d’instructions (en anglais) pour plus de détails.

Prélèvement des échantillons

  • Pour vous protéger, portez des gants et un masque.
  • Demandez aux patients ayant des sécrétions abondantes de se moucher légèrement ou de se laver le nez.
  • Prélevez un échantillon nasopharyngien (de préférence) ou nasal approprié (vidéo en anglais).
  • Placez l’écouvillon dans le tube ou un autre contenant de transport. Cassez l’écouvillon à l’endroit indiqué de sorte qu’il reste dans le tube et fermez bien le capuchon.
  • Sur le tube, apposez une étiquette portant le nom complet du patient et sa date de naissance. Placez l’échantillon dans le sac pour matières contaminées fourni et scellez la pochette de l’échantillon avec la bande adhésive.
  • Réfrigérez à 4 °C jusqu’au transport par le service de messagerie.

Formulaire de réquisition

Remplissez tous les champs du formulaire de réquisition du SPSN fourni : 

  • Assurez-vous de remplir un formulaire pour chacun des échantillons envoyés. 
  • Sous « clinician/referring laboratory », inscrivez le nom complet et l’adresse de facturation du professionnels de la santé ou du bureau où le rapport final sera envoyé.
  • Indiquez la date du prélèvement de l’échantillon dans la section appropriée du formulaire.
  • Répondez au questionnaire afin de contribuer à l’évaluation de l’efficacité des vaccins comme mesure de protection contre la grippe confirmée en laboratoire.
  • Placez le formulaire accompagnant chacun des échantillons dans la poche extérieure du sac pour matières contaminées.
  • Utilisez un sac pour matières contaminées par échantillon, accompagné du formulaire de réquisition dûment rempli.

Transport des échantillons

  • Envoyez les échantillons aux fins d’analyse dans le cadre du SPSN à votre laboratoire habituel, qui le fera parvenir au laboratoire de SPO.

Communication des résultats

Les résultats seront communiqués directement à votre bureau. Vous recevrez les résultats du système d'information du laboratoire par l’entremise du service de télécopie automatique Autofax. Pour vous inscrire à ce service, veuillez téléphoner au centre de service à la clientèle de SPO, au 416 235 6556 ou au 1 877 604 4567.

1. Combien d’échantillons respiratoires dois-je prélever?

Le chiffre peut varier, mais en se fondant sur des calculs statistique et les saisons de grippe antérieures, nous prévoyons que chaque sentinelle peut envoyer en moyenne un ou deux échantillons par semaine (de 20 à 25 au total) au cours de la période de l’étude. À l’échelle de la collaboration nationale entre la Colombie-Britannique, l’Alberta, l’Ontario et le Québec, nous visons un total de 3 000 échantillons respiratoires dans le cadre de l’étude.

2. Quand dois-je commencer à prélever des échantillons chez les patients qui présentent des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe cette année?

Dès que vous aurez reçu la pochette d’information et le matériel de prélèvement, vous pourrez commencer à envoyer des échantillons.

3. Quels sont les patients admissibles dans le cadre de l’étude sur l’efficacité des vaccins?

Sont admissibles tous les patients que vous recevez en consultation qui résident en Ontario et qui présentent des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe (selon la définition donnée dans le document Surveillance de l’influenza) depuis une semaine ou moins.

Vous devriez prélever un échantillon nasopharyngien (de préférence) ou nasal au moyen de la trousse de prélèvement aux fins d’analyse grippale.

Nous vous aviserons en cas de changement concernant le prélèvement des échantillons aux fins de l’étude. Veuillez prendre note qu’il importe de prélever des échantillons respiratoires sur les patients qui résident en Ontario et qui présentent des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe depuis sept jours ou moins, qu’ils aient ou non reçu le vaccin antigrippal.

Pour la saison 2016-2017, nous demandons également de mettre l’accent sur les patients âgés de 65 ans et plus, car ce groupe d'âge est sous-représenté depuis quelques années.

4. Dois-je envoyer les échantillons visés par l’étude au laboratoire où je soumets habituellement mes échantillons respiratoires? 

Oui. À compter de la saison 2017-2018, vous pouvez expédier les échantillons respiratoires aux fins du SPSN à votre laboratoire habituel, qui les fera parvenir à SPO.

5. Vais-je recevoir une rétribution compte tenu du temps que je consacre à l’étude?

Oui. En reconnaissance de votre participation à l’étude et du temps et des efforts que vous y consacrez, un montant de 10 $ vous sera remis par échantillon envoyé avec la demande de réquisition propre au SPSN dûment remplie. La rétribution sera versée à la fin de la période de l’étude.

6. L’étude a-t-elle été approuvée sur le plan de l’éthique et, dans l'affirmative, quelles sont les exigences particulières à cet égard? 

Les comités d’éthique des provinces participantes examinent la méthodologie de l’étude chaque année depuis 2004. Un examen des questions d’éthique a été effectué, et l’approbation nécessaire a été obtenue en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Ontario et au Québec (quatre examens distincts). Pour la saison 2018-2019, une approbation en matière d’éthique sera demandée à l’automne 2018. Le personnel infirmier praticien et les médecins sentinelles doivent informer leurs patients admissibles et obtenir leur consentement verbal afin de pouvoir prélever un échantillon et remplir le questionnaire aux fins de l’étude. Un script de consentement verbal rédigé par les chercheurs de l’étude est joint à la documentation qui est envoyée aux sentinelles inscrites.

7. Qui d’autre prend part à l’étude?

Dans chaque province participante, une équipe d’épidémiologistes et de chercheurs de laboratoire a été formée. Ces derniers travaillent en collaboration depuis plusieurs années, et les chercheurs et les médecins sentinelles de l’Ontario se joindront de nouveau à cette équipe de chercheurs provinciaux cette saison.

8. Comment évaluera-t-on l’efficacité des vaccins?

L’efficacité des vaccins est évaluée en fonction des cas de grippe confirmés en laboratoire au moyen d’une analyse cas-témoins. À partir des résultats de laboratoire (diagnostics de grippe positifs et négatifs) et des réponses au questionnaire sur la réquisition d’analyse (p. ex. concernant les antécédents de vaccination antigrippale), le statut vaccinal des sujets ayant la grippe est comparé à celui de ceux ne l’ayant pas. L’étude s’appuie sur l’hypothèse selon laquelle les personnes présentant des symptômes s’apparentant à ceux de la grippe n’auront pas toutes la grippe. Les sujets dont le résultat d’analyse est positif sont considérés comme les cas de l’étude, et ceux ayant un résultat négatif en deviennent les témoins. On se sert des taux de vaccination au sein de ces deux groupes pour évaluer l’efficacité des vaccins. 

9. Où l’analyse des résultats à l’échelle nationale sera-t-elle effectuée et comment protégera-t-on les renseignements personnels?

Depuis 2004, le résultat global concernant l’efficacité des vaccins est produit à partir des données de l’ensemble des provinces participantes. Ces données sont combinées et font l’objet d’une analyse statistique au Centre for Disease Control de la Colombie-Britannique (BCCDC).
Les données provenant du Québec, de l’Ontario et de l’Alberta qui sont communiquées au BCCDC aux fins du calcul du résultat combiné ne comprennent absolument aucun renseignement identificatoire ni sur l’état de santé de la personne, conformément aux exigences des comités d’éthique. Seuls les résultats des analyses visant à diagnostiquer la grippe et les données épidémiologiques pertinentes figurant sur la réquisition sont communiqués dans le seul but d’évaluer l’efficacité globale des vaccins. À chaque niveau, toutes les données sont conservées dans des installations sécurisées et verrouillées. Les bureaux de la Dre Danuta Skowronski, chercheuse principale, sont situés au BCCDC.

10. Ai-je besoin d'équipement particulier pour participer à l'étude?

Voici ce dont vous aurez besoin :

  • Des trousses de prélèvement fournies par le laboratoire de Santé publique Ontario – Toronto
  • Un réfrigérateur pour conserver les échantillons à 4 °C jusqu'au transport vers le laboratoire (les échantillons doivent être expédiés dès leur prélèvement, mais ce n'est pas toujours possible).

11.  Où puis-je obtenir plus d’information sur les autres virus qui touchent la population de ma région?

Veuillez consulter le bulletin sur les pathogènes respiratoires en Ontario (en anglais) pour en savoir plus.

12.  Comment vais-je recevoir les résultats des échantillons soumis?

Afin de réduire le délai et d’augmenter l’efficacité de l’analyse et des rapports, les résultats seront communiqués au moyen du service de télécopie automatique Autofax du Système d'information de laboratoire de l'Ontario. Pour vous inscrire au service Autofax, veuillez téléphoner au centre de service à la clientèle du laboratoire de santé publique de Toronto, au 416 235 6556 ou au 1 877 604 4567.

Publications récentes du SPSN (en anglais):

  1. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Hickman R, Chan T, Jassem AN, Drews SJ, Charest H, Gubbay JB, Bastien N, Li Y, Krajden M. Early season co-circulation of influenza A(H3N2) and B(Yamagata): interim estimates of 2017/18 vaccine effectiveness, Canada, January 2018. Euro Surveill. 2018 Feb;23(5). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2018.23.5.18-00035.
  2. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, De Serres G, Drews SJ, Jassem A, Gubbay JB, Charest H, Balshaw R, Bastien N, Li Y, Krajden M. Interim estimates of 2016/17 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H3N2), Canada, January 2017. Euro Surveill. 2017; 22(6). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2017.22.6.30460
  3. Chambers C, Skowronski DM, Sabaiduc S, Winter AL, Dickinson JA, De Serres G, Gubbay JB, Drews SJ, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Krajden M, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2015/16 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H1N1)pdm09, Canada, February 2016. Euro Surveill. 2016;21(11). doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2016.21.11.30168.
  4. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Winter AL, Dickinson JA, Krajden M, Gubbay JB, Drews SJ, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Kwindt TL, Bastien N, Li Y. A Perfect Storm: Impact of Genomic Variation and Serial Vaccination on Low Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness during the 2014-2015 Season. Clin Infect Dis. 2016 Jul 1;63(1):21-32. doi: 10.1093/cid/ciw176. Epub 2016 Mar 29.
  5. Skowronski DM, Sabaiduc S, Chambers C, Eshaghi A, Gubbay JB, Krajden M, Drews SJ, Martineau C, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Bastien N, Li Y. Mutations acquired during cell culture isolation may affect antigenic characterisation of influenza A(H3N2) clade 3C.2a viruses. Euro Surveill. 2016;21(3):30112. doi: 10.2807/1560-7917.ES.2016.21.3.30112.
  6. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, et al. Integrated Sentinel Surveillance Linking Genetic, Antigenic, and Epidemiologic Monitoring of Influenza Vaccine-Virus Relatedness and Effectiveness During the 2013-2014 Influenza Season. J Infect Dis. 2015 Mar 17. pii: jiv177.
  7. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Drews SJ, Fonseca K, Charest H, Gubbay JB, Petric M, Krajden M, Kwindt TL, Martineau C, Eshaghi A, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2014/15 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H3N2) from Canada’s Sentinel Physician Surveillance Network, January 2015. Euro Surveill. 2015;20(4):pii=21022.
  8. Skowronski DM, Janjua NZ, De Serres G, Sabaiduc S, Eshaghi A, et al. (2014) Low 2012–13 Influenza Vaccine Effectiveness Associated with Mutation in the Egg-Adapted H3N2 Vaccine Strain Not Antigenic Drift in Circulating Viruses. PLoS ONE 9(3): e92153. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0092153
  9. Danuta M. Skowronski, Naveed Z. Janjua, Suzana Sabaiduc, Gaston De Serres, Anne-Luise Winter, Jonathan B. Gubbay, James A. Dickinson, Kevin Fonseca, Hugues Charest, Nathalie Bastien, Yan Li, Trijntje L. Kwindt, Salaheddin M. Mahmud, Paul Van Caeseele, Mel Krajden, and Martin Petric Influenza A/Subtype and B/Lineage Effectiveness Estimates for the 2011–2012 Trivalent Vaccine: Cross-Season and Cross-Lineage Protection With Unchanged Vaccine J Infect Dis. (2014) 210 (1): 126-137
  10. Skowronski DM, Chambers C, Sabaiduc S, De Serres G, Dickinson JA, Winter AL, Fonseca K, Gubbay JB, Charest H, Petric M, Krajden M, Mahmud SM, Van Caeseele P, Kwindt TL, Eshaghi A, Bastien N, Li Y. Interim estimates of 2013/14 vaccine effectiveness against influenza A(H1N1)pdm09 from Canada’s sentinel surveillance network, January 2014. Euro Surveill. 2014;19(5):pii=20690.
icône de messagerie

Contacter le service

Programme de prêts d'équipements en santé environnementale et santé au travail

spsn.on@oahpp.ca

Mis à jour le 27 avr. 2019