Virtual Library

The Virtual Library (VL) is a collection of online research databases, many of which provide access to full text content of hundreds of public health journals. We fund this resource to increase public health research capacity and support evidence-informed public health decision-making in Ontario.

Access the Virtual Library

Search through our collection of online research databases.

Access the Virtual Library

Who can access the Virtual Library?

Access to the site is limited to staff in Ontario's local public health units, the Office of the Chief Medical Officer of Health, Public Health of the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care and Public Health Ontario. The terms of the license agreement with the service provider do not permit Public Health Ontario to extend access to the Virtual Library to any additional users.

If you work in a public health unit in Ontario, in addition to these online resources, you may wish to consult the Shared Library Services Partnership (SLSP) page to determine if you are eligible to receive library services from a designated hub library.

How do I access the Virtual Library?

If you meet the access criteria outlined above, you may access the Virtual Library from this page after you provide authentication information or through the link provided by your designated library.

You may be prompted to enter your login information. If you are a health unit staff member and require Virtual Library access information, contact your health unit library or your designated hub library.

Are full text journal articles available in the Virtual Library?

The Virtual Library includes some full-text content, including articles from many public health journals. Many of the full text articles are published under embargo of varying length, so please read the scope notes carefully if you need to access the most recent articles. For the articles not available via Virtual Library consult with your librarian.

Do any copyright and license restrictions apply to the Virtual Library?

You may download and use database search results and full-text articles for research, program development and other related activities of your organization, or your own research.

All other uses are prohibited. Some examples of prohibited uses are:

  • Distributing full text articles via email outside of your organization
  • Sharing login information with external colleagues
  • Posting articles on the internet or your corporate intranet

Virtual Library content is protected by copyright law and is subject to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which the materials are licensed. Except as otherwise provided under copyright law and applicable license agreements, such material may not be copied, published, distributed, downloaded or otherwise stored in a retrieval system, transmitted or converted, in any form or by any means, electronic or otherwise, without the prior written permission of the copyright owner. Users may not modify, adapt, transform, translate or create any derivative work based on the content of these publications.

How do I get materials not included in the Virtual Library?

If you work in one of the Ontario’s 36 health units, you either have a library within your organization or are receiving library services through the Shared Library Services Partnership (SLSP) (also referred to as hub libraries). Please contact your service provider for more information.

Event

The Ontario Public Health Convention (TOPHC) 2020

TOPHC is where we learn from one another, provoke thought, and get motivated to make a difference in the practice of public health.

See the Event Details
Chat icon

Contact the Department

Library Services

library@oahpp.ca

Updated 8 April 2019

Bibliothèque virtuelle

La bibliothèque virtuelle abrite notre collection de bases de données contenant des centaines de revues de santé publique en version intégrale. Nous finançons cette ressource pour accroître la capacité de recherche en santé publique et appuyer la prise de décisions dans ce domaine en fonction de données probantes en Ontario.

Accès à la bibliothèque virtuelle

Consultez notre collection de bases de données pour la recherche.

Accès à la bibliothèque virtuelle

Qui peut accéder à la bibliothèque virtuelle?

L’accès au site est limité au personnel des bureaux de santé publique locaux de l’Ontario, du Bureau du médecin hygiéniste en chef, de la Direction de la santé publique du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée et de Santé publique Ontario. La convention de droits d’utilisation interdit à Santé publique Ontario d’élargir l’accès à la bibliothèque virtuelle à d’autres utilisateurs.

Si vous travaillez dans un bureau de santé publique de l’Ontario, vous pouvez également consulter la page Réseau de services bibliothécaires partagés (RSBP) pour déterminer si vous pouvez recevoir des services d’une bibliothèque partagée.

Comment accéder à la bibliothèque virtuelle?

Si vous répondez aux critères mentionnés ci-dessus, vous pouvez consulter la bibliothèque virtuelle ici. Vous pouvez également utiliser le lien fourni par votre bibliothèque partagée.

Vous devrez ouvrir une session. Si vous faites partie du personnel d’un bureau de santé publique et que vous avez besoin d’accéder à la bibliothèque virtuelle, communiquez avec la bibliothèque de votre bureau de santé publique ou votre bibliothèque partagée.

Est-ce que la bibliothèque virtuelle offre la version intégrale d’articles de revues?

Oui. La bibliothèque virtuelle renferme un certain nombre d’articles en version intégrale, y compris des articles de nombreuses publications en santé publique. Un grand nombre d’articles en texte intégral sont publiés sous embargo de durée variable, de sorte qu'il n'est pas toujours possible d'accéder aux derniers numéros. Veuillez lire attentivement les remarques sur l'application de l'embargo. Pour obtenir un article ne se trouvant pas dans la bibliothèque virtuelle, communiquez avec votre bibliothécaire.

Quelles restrictions en matière de droits d’auteur et de licence s’appliquent à la bibliothèque virtuelle?

Vous pouvez télécharger et utiliser les résultats de vos recherches dans les bases de données et les articles en version intégrale à des fins de recherche et de conception de programme, et pour d’autres activités connexes au sein de votre organisation.

Toutes les autres utilisations sont interdites. Voici des exemples d’utilisations interdites :

  • Distribution de la version intégrale d’articles par courrier électronique à l’extérieur de votre organisation
  • Partage de votre information de connexion avec des collègues externes
  • Affichage d’articles sur Internet ou sur l’intranet de votre organisation

Le contenu de la bibliothèque virtuelle est protégé par les lois sur le droit d’auteur et assujetti aux conditions du contrat de licence applicable aux documents visés. Sauf disposition contraire des lois sur le droit d’auteur et des contrats de licence applicables, le matériel ne peut être photocopié, publié, distribué, téléchargé ou stocké d’une autre manière dans un système de recherche documentaire, transmis ou converti, sous quelque forme que ce soit ou de quelque manière que ce soit, notamment, de manière électronique, sans la permission écrite préalable du titulaire du droit d’auteur. Les utilisateurs ne peuvent pas modifier, adapter, transformer ou traduire le contenu de ces publications ni créer des produits dérivés à partir d’un tel contenu.

Comment puis-je obtenir des documents ne se trouvant pas dans la bibliothèque virtuelle?

Si vous travaillez dans un des 36 bureaux de santé publique de l’Ontario, vous pouvez consulter votre bibliothèque ou accéder au Réseau de services bibliothécaires partagés (RSBP) également appelé bibliothèques partagées. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec votre fournisseur de services.

Événement

The Ontario Public Health Convention (TOPHC) 2020

TOPHC is where we learn from one another, provoke thought, and get motivated to make a difference in the practice of public health.

Voir les détails de l'événement
Mis à jour le 22 oct. 2019